~Toughbooktalk~ Rob - 630-300-8877

The largest Toughbook discussion site on the net!
It is currently Mon Feb 17, 2020 3:08 am

All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2014 12:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2254
Location: TDR-HQ California
You did something wrong. Remember it's only a computer.

You are good now?

Thanks,

Jeff

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2014 3:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 149
I think, after the reboot it seems good...only issue I was having is that error when searched on Google came up different than the fix and found the right file in the error... Makes sense after I got it..probably would of got it quicker ifI wasn't a new lol


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2014 6:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2254
Location: TDR-HQ California
Did I send you an error?

Please let me know and I will edit.

J'd

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2014 4:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2254
Location: TDR-HQ California
Found a mistake in the install line for gedit. Fixed same.

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2014 6:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 149
i dont think it was with anything you sent, i think something just seizured with the touch screen calibration change....


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2014 11:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2254
Location: TDR-HQ California
It was a combination of wrong code and you not seeing it. Everybody has to start someplace. :D

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 6:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 149
Sadlmkr wrote:
It was a combination of wrong code and you not seeing it. Everybody has to start someplace. :D



lol, it happens, we all live and learn...everyday is something new....probably should start a new topic but has anyone tried it in virtual pc on windows 7? im tinkering with something...work lost a software thats paid and mine got wiped out after it was good and working some how...anyways...linux has some pdf editors that look good and if i could run it in virtual i might be able to manipulate the PDF's with it without logging into mint...then having to flip flop between win7 and mint....i dunno i think my minds going crazy lol... the short of it, ive got it to the point it will load mint 17 mate and it hangs at install and freezes.....again...just tinkering trying to figure out a way to make something hopefully go smoother for me....


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 10:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2254
Location: TDR-HQ California
This is a CF-30?
My opinion:
The correct way to load Mint as dual boot is to load your Win7 program, get it right and then load Mint and let it set up a grub menu and partition the drive to your wishes. Actually it does the partition bit first then creates the menu.
You can load a Mint 17 Live CD and access your Win7 from that.....meaning if you want x.pdf just drag and drop onto a separate USB stick.

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 08, 2014 8:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 149
Not a dual boot, that's already set up I was wondering as a virtual pc in Windows 7, and kinda use them side by side for that one reason. http://lifehacker.com/5714966/five-best-virtual-machine-applications like that maybe


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 08, 2014 4:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2254
Location: TDR-HQ California
My X desktop crashed after I used 99-calibration.conf.
There was a hidden character in the .conf file....maybe an extra space??????? I couldn't see it but:

Log in where you can and run
Code:
 sudo rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d 
then redo it again. (Calibrate)
Did you do
Code:
mkdir /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/
##makes a directory where none exists in new install.

I'm clueless about VM. Teach us how. :D

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Last edited by SHEEPMAN! on Thu Oct 02, 2014 2:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited