upgrading ut-mb5

Post all questions and information about the 20" 4K Windows tablet in here.
Message
Author
User avatar
Reckless
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 5:45 pm

upgrading ut-mb5

#1 Post by Reckless »

One of my ut-mb5's is a pre-production unit and only has 4gb ram. I want to upgrade it to 8 or more does anyone know why that might not work?
Attachments
ut-mb5 inside.JPG
ut-mb5 inside.JPG (46.19 KiB) Viewed 8107 times
Toughbook Collection:
RZ4, NX2, NX, AX2, B11, B10, N10, N8, W4, T5, T4, T2, T1, Y4, S4, R1, R9
(Direct from the Land of the Rising Sun)

ToughPad Collection:
MB5 4k, MB5 4k Prototype

Touch Monitors & Displays:
Pixelsense: Microsoft Surface 2.0 Tables
Sharp Interactive Aquos Board 70"

User avatar
Rob
Toughbooktalk Founder
Posts: 3550
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:23 pm
Contact:

Re: upgrading ut-mb5

#2 Post by Rob »

That pic is too small to see any detail but it appears to have a normal laptop chip in there. Just match the spex on it and pop an 8GB one in there.

Thanks!
~Rob - Rugged Depot
~Cell: (630)/300-8877~
~Owner - Toughbooktalk~
~Fully rugged Toughbook user since April 18th 2005~
~FZ-40ACAAHKM - Primary Toughbook / Workstation as of 7/29/22
~Win10 Pro (Win11 DG), Intel Core i5-1145G7 (up to 4.4GHz), vPro, 14.0" FHD Gloved Multi Touch, 16GB, 1TB Samsung SSD, Intel Wi-Fi 6, Bluetooth, 4G EM7690, GPS, Quad Pass (BIOS Selectable), Mic and Infrared 5MP Webcam, Standard Battery, TPM 2.0, Emissive Backlit Keyboard, Dual Batteries, USB A + HDMI + Serial X-PAK, Shoulder Strap, Flat~
~AT&T Business 1GB Fiber 1GB/1GB business static line~
~Gamber & Johnson Platinum Partner~

http://www.toughbooktalk.com
http://downloads.toughbooktalk.com/
http://www.rugged575.com - 300' UHF GMRS Radio Repeater
http://www.crete600.com - 310' UHF Linked GMRS Radio Repeater


~Emergency preparedness starts with reliable communication systems above all. Pretend the internet and cell phones didn’t exist, how will you communicate? If you’re interested in learning more, ask me!~

User avatar
Reckless
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: upgrading ut-mb5

#3 Post by Reckless »

Do you think 16GB might work? Sorry I will upload a better image later (been extremely busy with work).
Toughbook Collection:
RZ4, NX2, NX, AX2, B11, B10, N10, N8, W4, T5, T4, T2, T1, Y4, S4, R1, R9
(Direct from the Land of the Rising Sun)

ToughPad Collection:
MB5 4k, MB5 4k Prototype

Touch Monitors & Displays:
Pixelsense: Microsoft Surface 2.0 Tables
Sharp Interactive Aquos Board 70"

User avatar
Rob
Toughbooktalk Founder
Posts: 3550
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:23 pm
Contact:

Re: upgrading ut-mb5

#4 Post by Rob »

Uhhhhggggg..... Doubt it.

Can you do me a favor?

Run CPU-Z (http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z/ve ... story.html) and give me the report on the motherboard? I wanna cross reference the chipset!

Thanks!
~Rob - Rugged Depot
~Cell: (630)/300-8877~
~Owner - Toughbooktalk~
~Fully rugged Toughbook user since April 18th 2005~
~FZ-40ACAAHKM - Primary Toughbook / Workstation as of 7/29/22
~Win10 Pro (Win11 DG), Intel Core i5-1145G7 (up to 4.4GHz), vPro, 14.0" FHD Gloved Multi Touch, 16GB, 1TB Samsung SSD, Intel Wi-Fi 6, Bluetooth, 4G EM7690, GPS, Quad Pass (BIOS Selectable), Mic and Infrared 5MP Webcam, Standard Battery, TPM 2.0, Emissive Backlit Keyboard, Dual Batteries, USB A + HDMI + Serial X-PAK, Shoulder Strap, Flat~
~AT&T Business 1GB Fiber 1GB/1GB business static line~
~Gamber & Johnson Platinum Partner~

http://www.toughbooktalk.com
http://downloads.toughbooktalk.com/
http://www.rugged575.com - 300' UHF GMRS Radio Repeater
http://www.crete600.com - 310' UHF Linked GMRS Radio Repeater


~Emergency preparedness starts with reliable communication systems above all. Pretend the internet and cell phones didn’t exist, how will you communicate? If you’re interested in learning more, ask me!~

User avatar
Reckless
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: upgrading ut-mb5

#5 Post by Reckless »

This unit is a pre-production unit, not sure if that has any impact
Attachments
UT-MB.txt
(81.97 KiB) Downloaded 356 times
Toughbook Collection:
RZ4, NX2, NX, AX2, B11, B10, N10, N8, W4, T5, T4, T2, T1, Y4, S4, R1, R9
(Direct from the Land of the Rising Sun)

ToughPad Collection:
MB5 4k, MB5 4k Prototype

Touch Monitors & Displays:
Pixelsense: Microsoft Surface 2.0 Tables
Sharp Interactive Aquos Board 70"

User avatar
Rob
Toughbooktalk Founder
Posts: 3550
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:23 pm
Contact:

Re: upgrading ut-mb5

#6 Post by Rob »

After analyzing that it would APPEAR that it SHOULD work with a 16GB chip...

http://ark.intel.com/products/71259/Int ... Hz?q=3437U - This shows 32GB max which would mean 2 x 16GB chips

Also, in the report I see:

DMI Physical Memory Array
location Motherboard
usage System Memory
correction None
max capacity 32768 MBytes
max# of devices 2


DMI Memory Device
designation ChannelA-DIMM0
format DIMM
type unknown

DMI Memory Device
designation ChannelB-DIMM0
format SODIMM
type unknown
total width 64 bits
data width 64 bits
size 4096 MBytes


Can you confirm that there are 2 RAM slots or is there only 1?
~Rob - Rugged Depot
~Cell: (630)/300-8877~
~Owner - Toughbooktalk~
~Fully rugged Toughbook user since April 18th 2005~
~FZ-40ACAAHKM - Primary Toughbook / Workstation as of 7/29/22
~Win10 Pro (Win11 DG), Intel Core i5-1145G7 (up to 4.4GHz), vPro, 14.0" FHD Gloved Multi Touch, 16GB, 1TB Samsung SSD, Intel Wi-Fi 6, Bluetooth, 4G EM7690, GPS, Quad Pass (BIOS Selectable), Mic and Infrared 5MP Webcam, Standard Battery, TPM 2.0, Emissive Backlit Keyboard, Dual Batteries, USB A + HDMI + Serial X-PAK, Shoulder Strap, Flat~
~AT&T Business 1GB Fiber 1GB/1GB business static line~
~Gamber & Johnson Platinum Partner~

http://www.toughbooktalk.com
http://downloads.toughbooktalk.com/
http://www.rugged575.com - 300' UHF GMRS Radio Repeater
http://www.crete600.com - 310' UHF Linked GMRS Radio Repeater


~Emergency preparedness starts with reliable communication systems above all. Pretend the internet and cell phones didn’t exist, how will you communicate? If you’re interested in learning more, ask me!~

User avatar
Reckless
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: upgrading ut-mb5

#7 Post by Reckless »

i have higher resolution photo attached but i believe its only one (didnt check carefully enough). I bought a 8gb sim from frys but I think I should have bought 16gb. What do you think?
Attachments
photo.JPG
photo.JPG (2.59 MiB) Viewed 8059 times
Toughbook Collection:
RZ4, NX2, NX, AX2, B11, B10, N10, N8, W4, T5, T4, T2, T1, Y4, S4, R1, R9
(Direct from the Land of the Rising Sun)

ToughPad Collection:
MB5 4k, MB5 4k Prototype

Touch Monitors & Displays:
Pixelsense: Microsoft Surface 2.0 Tables
Sharp Interactive Aquos Board 70"

User avatar
Rob
Toughbooktalk Founder
Posts: 3550
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:23 pm
Contact:

Re: upgrading ut-mb5

#8 Post by Rob »

Naw,

Looks like 1 slot for sure. Worst case the other slot (If it had it) would be on the other side.

Did the 8GB one work ok?

Thanks!
~Rob - Rugged Depot
~Cell: (630)/300-8877~
~Owner - Toughbooktalk~
~Fully rugged Toughbook user since April 18th 2005~
~FZ-40ACAAHKM - Primary Toughbook / Workstation as of 7/29/22
~Win10 Pro (Win11 DG), Intel Core i5-1145G7 (up to 4.4GHz), vPro, 14.0" FHD Gloved Multi Touch, 16GB, 1TB Samsung SSD, Intel Wi-Fi 6, Bluetooth, 4G EM7690, GPS, Quad Pass (BIOS Selectable), Mic and Infrared 5MP Webcam, Standard Battery, TPM 2.0, Emissive Backlit Keyboard, Dual Batteries, USB A + HDMI + Serial X-PAK, Shoulder Strap, Flat~
~AT&T Business 1GB Fiber 1GB/1GB business static line~
~Gamber & Johnson Platinum Partner~

http://www.toughbooktalk.com
http://downloads.toughbooktalk.com/
http://www.rugged575.com - 300' UHF GMRS Radio Repeater
http://www.crete600.com - 310' UHF Linked GMRS Radio Repeater


~Emergency preparedness starts with reliable communication systems above all. Pretend the internet and cell phones didn’t exist, how will you communicate? If you’re interested in learning more, ask me!~

User avatar
Reckless
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: upgrading ut-mb5

#9 Post by Reckless »

I haven't tried it. I was debating about putting 16GB in it and then I just got a call from Panasonic parts dept saying only 8 GB will fit.

I am debating about wasting the time to go to fry's buy 16gb and trying it before putting the 8 gb in. The parts store said the largest hard drive that will fit is 256gb but I put a 1 TB inside. The machine does not have good heat ventilation but my understanding is that performance Samsung drives tend to be cooler than mainstream hard drives.
Toughbook Collection:
RZ4, NX2, NX, AX2, B11, B10, N10, N8, W4, T5, T4, T2, T1, Y4, S4, R1, R9
(Direct from the Land of the Rising Sun)

ToughPad Collection:
MB5 4k, MB5 4k Prototype

Touch Monitors & Displays:
Pixelsense: Microsoft Surface 2.0 Tables
Sharp Interactive Aquos Board 70"

User avatar
Reckless
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: upgrading ut-mb5

#10 Post by Reckless »

I havent found a 16gb chip at Frys. I wonder if anyone makes one? It seems that people put 8gb x 4.
Toughbook Collection:
RZ4, NX2, NX, AX2, B11, B10, N10, N8, W4, T5, T4, T2, T1, Y4, S4, R1, R9
(Direct from the Land of the Rising Sun)

ToughPad Collection:
MB5 4k, MB5 4k Prototype

Touch Monitors & Displays:
Pixelsense: Microsoft Surface 2.0 Tables
Sharp Interactive Aquos Board 70"

Post Reply

Return to “UT-MB5 / FZ-Y1 20" 4K Toughpad Talk (Discontinued Models)”