anyone have a problem getting on the wifi?

Got something going on that involves networking, firewalls or wireless? Post it here.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Tactmedic
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 12:00 pm
Location: Florida

anyone have a problem getting on the wifi?

#1 Post by Tactmedic »

Here is my issue-

My CF-30 sees the router but when I try to connect and enter the password I get this error message-

i plug in password in the "Device Ownership Password" but when I get to the 8th digit it pops an error "Checksum Validation failed for the pin entered"

I am using the "Wi-Fi protected setup wizard" i guess its something for the Intel(R) PROSet/Wireless...

Please help

:doh: :doh: :doh:
CF-C2AKFZGLM My newest one :)
CF-30KQPATPM for sale! Ask me about more info!
CF-30KCPAQ2M for sale! Ask me about more info!

User avatar
Shawn
Posts: 2958
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am

Re: anyone have a problem getting on the wifi?

#2 Post by Shawn »

Install the driver only for the Intel card and use windows built in connection manager
Life will beat you into submission.

Tactmedic
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 12:00 pm
Location: Florida

Re: anyone have a problem getting on the wifi?

#3 Post by Tactmedic »

Shawn wrote:Install the driver only for the Intel card and use windows built in connection manager
I have another problem-

When I bought the TB it came with an admin account and it doesn't let me update or change anything on the computer... frustrating :doh:
CF-C2AKFZGLM My newest one :)
CF-30KQPATPM for sale! Ask me about more info!
CF-30KCPAQ2M for sale! Ask me about more info!

User avatar
Shawn
Posts: 2958
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am

Re: anyone have a problem getting on the wifi?

#4 Post by Shawn »

Did you know it had a password before you bought it? If not, return it for a refund and buy a different unit.

If you got it on Ebay and the seller won't respond to your messages..FILE A CLAIM against him...Ebay will deal with it and get you a refund.
Life will beat you into submission.

Tactmedic
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 12:00 pm
Location: Florida

Re: anyone have a problem getting on the wifi?

#5 Post by Tactmedic »

Shawn wrote:Did you know it had a password before you bought it? If not, return it for a refund and buy a different unit.

If you got it on Ebay and the seller won't respond to your messages..FILE A CLAIM against him...Ebay will deal with it and get you a refund.
thats the plan. the seller never said it had a PW on it. It is actually in like new condition- In much better condition than the once in my job :wtf:
CF-C2AKFZGLM My newest one :)
CF-30KQPATPM for sale! Ask me about more info!
CF-30KCPAQ2M for sale! Ask me about more info!

User avatar
Shawn
Posts: 2958
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am

Re: anyone have a problem getting on the wifi?

#6 Post by Shawn »

Good plan, I am sure several different board members can set you up with a nice unit. Ask for what you want in the Buy Sell forum.
Life will beat you into submission.

User avatar
kode-niner
Posts: 690
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 7:39 am
Location: Canada

Re: anyone have a problem getting on the wifi?

#7 Post by kode-niner »

Meh, you should probably disable WPS on your router anyway since it is inherently flawed, and just use a wifi password.
Daily drives a CF-31

Tactmedic
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 12:00 pm
Location: Florida

Re: anyone have a problem getting on the wifi?

#8 Post by Tactmedic »

OK so the seller has finally responded and gave me the PW. I know have Admin rights!! BTW the WiFi issue is fixed, and I am using my 30 right now from work :) thanks guys for helping...

Now I have to figure out how to change the PW, and also how to take out the seller's profile stuff (still says her name on the computer)..
CF-C2AKFZGLM My newest one :)
CF-30KQPATPM for sale! Ask me about more info!
CF-30KCPAQ2M for sale! Ask me about more info!

User avatar
Shawn
Posts: 2958
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am

Re: anyone have a problem getting on the wifi?

#9 Post by Shawn »

Control panel / user accounts / create new user account (admin)/ login to new account and verify all works okey dokey. Back to control panel / user accounts/ delete old user /
Life will beat you into submission.

Tactmedic
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 12:00 pm
Location: Florida

Re: anyone have a problem getting on the wifi?

#10 Post by Tactmedic »

Shawn wrote:Control panel / user accounts / create new user account (admin)/ login to new account and verify all works okey dokey. Back to control panel / user accounts/ delete old user /
Roger that, I'm on it. Thanks :notworthy:
CF-C2AKFZGLM My newest one :)
CF-30KQPATPM for sale! Ask me about more info!
CF-30KCPAQ2M for sale! Ask me about more info!

Post Reply

Return to “Networking, Firewalls, & Wireless Talk”