~Toughbooktalk~ Rob - 630-300-8877

The largest Toughbook discussion site on the net!
It is currently Mon Nov 19, 2018 2:04 am

All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 11:20 am 
Offline
Toughbooktalk Founder
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:23 pm
Posts: 3580
It looks like a bad screen...

Hmmm.... odd!

_________________
~Rob - Rugged Depot ~ Cell: (630)/300-8877~

~Fully rugged Toughbook user since April 18th 2005~
~New 3/16/18 - CF-54F0001KM Win10, Intel Core i5 6300U 2.4GHz, 240GB SSD, 12GB, Verizon 4G LTE, Intel 8260 WiFi a/b/g/n/ac, Bluetooth~
~For the wife (New 1/25/18): CF-54F0962KM/i5/128GB SSD/8GB/Win 10~
~Others: CF-52MLBBQ2M (Home Workstation)
~New 11/13/14 Donations thanks to everyone at Toughbooktalk: IBM xSeries 3650/2 x Xeon X5560 2.8GHz/16GB RAM/8 x 600GB 10KRPM SAS RAID 5/3.71TB Space/Win 2008 R2/3000VA + 1250VA Battery Backup~
~AT&T 1GB Fiber 1GB/1GB business static line~
~Gamber & Johnson Diamond Partner~

http://www.toughbooktalk.com
http://www.toughbooktalk.com/public_downloads
http://www.toughwiki.com
http://www.robsnetworks.com
http://www.giganethosting.com


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 11:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2227
Location: TDR-HQ California
Reminds me of the time I put a hard drive in a caddy one set of contacts out of line. (not the screen...it didn't work for some odd lol reason)

Definitely worth a visit back to where you been.

Good luck.

Jeff

gazucha wrote:
Here's an update...

was trying to load Ubuntu 8.04 this afternoon and this happened to the screen... (see attachments)

Could this be the culprit to the OS failure?

What might cause this? Video card?

Anyone seen this before?

I did have the Laptop disassembled last week in the search for the root problem. Did I miss-connect something?

?????

Returned to normal after reboot

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 29, 2013 9:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 7:09 pm
Posts: 15
Does anyone know if it is possible to copy and paste the old original XP install?

Yesterday I found a folder in a back up drive which I had forgotten existed. I now remember that when I formatted the HD, I saved all the Windows XP files and folders. These will have all the correct CF28 hardware drivers within them... This is the entire file system which was working fine.

Using a different laptop with XP installed, it's possible to access that Windows system files (without Booting), via a Linux CD and this way it is possible to edit whatever I like.
If I just copy and paste all these saved original CF28 files in place of the present XP install files, and then install that HD in the CF28, will the MBR remain intact? Will it Boot? Or do I just need to copy specific folders? I'm about to find out...


As for the funny screen update, it can be induced by running certain programs, such as Ubuntu 8.04 and Boot-Repair.

.... Still haven't opened the machine.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 29, 2013 10:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2969
If you boot a windows xp install cd, it will find the folder and ask if you want to repair that installation.

_________________
Life will beat you into submission.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 29, 2013 12:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 7:09 pm
Posts: 15
Shawn wrote:
If you boot a windows xp install cd, it will find the folder and ask if you want to repair that installation.


Yeah it does that, but I have next to no idea of which command to give. .. Fixmbr? Fixboot?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 29, 2013 5:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 7:09 pm
Posts: 15
Rob wrote:
It looks like a bad screen...

Hmmm.... odd!



Hi Rob,

Just so you know...

yeah, the screen sure looks stuffed but I have been running various Boot CD's all day toady without recurrence so it leads me to think that during the installs of 8.04 and Boot-repair, some graphics driver or process was 'stopped'.

Surely a stuffed screen wouldn't only appear during 'particular' software changes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 29, 2013 10:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:51 pm
Posts: 1884
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Last time I loaded up Ubuntu on a Mk2 CF-28 it took a few times for me to get it to work. The version I used was Edubuntu 10.04 or 10.10. I personally would of used regular Ubuntu but it was a unit going to a friends of mines oldest boy and that is what he wanted.

_________________
CF-28 MK2,Mk3 / CF-29 Mk3 / CF-30 MK2 / CF-25 Mk1 ATI / CF-19 MK3/Mk3/Mk5 / CF-U1 Mk1,Mk2 / CF-M34 Mk7/Mk3 / CF-17 Mk1 / CF-07
Voodoo Envy M355 / M360 / M515 / M780 / U703 / Voodoo Hexx / Voodoo Idol / Voodoo Rage F1 / Voodoo Rage F1 / Voodoo Rage F1 "signed case" / Voodoo Omen
Alienware M11x R1


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 8:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 7:09 pm
Posts: 15
Never mind people...
As it would have survived being hit with a hammer, I gave up and sold it.

Thank you all for your input.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 12:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2015 11:16 am
Posts: 2
I have few in stock if you like to buy at dirt cheap?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited