~Toughbooktalk~ Rob - 630-300-8877
http://toughbooktalk.com/

CF-18 Mk5 wifi hardware switch
http://toughbooktalk.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1516
Page 1 of 2

Author:  orphanlr [ Thu Apr 04, 2013 3:44 pm ]
Post subject:  CF-18 Mk5 wifi hardware switch

OK,

I bought a batch of identical cf-18 Mk5 toughbooks, CF-18NCQZXVM, and have started to put the OS back in using factory restore disks.

MY PROBLEM, when trying to access the WIFI, the intel icon on the bottom bar says when I click on it to turn on wifi with the hardware switch. I know some models had actual switches but these do not. I tried turning the switches from the software in the intel software, but get the same message to turn on the hardware switch.

I see no switch, I found no icon on the keyboard for a function key activation, I've read over the manual and it doesnt say anything about a hardware switch that I can find, I've tried the function F8 for bluetooth but no joy, and I've checked int he bios and thats enabled.

I open a few up and they infact have intel 2915 cards installed, the device manager shows them installed, so I havent any more clues.

What am I missing? anyone have an idea what will make them work?

Thanks,

Sam

Author:  Shawn [ Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: CF-18 Mk5 wifi hardware switch

Post the BIOS version. It may be a special bios with wifi locked.

Author:  SHEEPMAN! [ Thu Apr 04, 2013 5:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: CF-18 Mk5 wifi hardware switch

Intel upgrade to latest version?
I have some success with ICS dx32 dot exe if not already installed.

Author:  orphanlr [ Thu Apr 04, 2013 5:34 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: CF-18 Mk5 wifi hardware switch

Bios V5.00L10
Emb V5.00L11

Will try a intel upgrade now........

Thanks (crossing fingers)

Author:  orphanlr [ Thu Apr 04, 2013 5:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: CF-18 Mk5 wifi hardware switch

The exact message is "The hardware radio switch is off. to enable wireless, turn on the hardware radio switch"

Author:  orphanlr [ Thu Apr 04, 2013 6:04 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: CF-18 Mk5 wifi hardware switch

update didnt work

Author:  SHEEPMAN! [ Thu Apr 04, 2013 6:18 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: CF-18 Mk5 wifi hardware switch

In control panel device manager network adapter Intel 2915? is the box unticked under advanced tab? I'm fairly certain you have checked this but.....

I have had to install Intel Wireless just to turn the radio on a couple times.

Still thinking.:)

Author:  orphanlr [ Thu Apr 04, 2013 7:18 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: CF-18 Mk5 wifi hardware switch

Under the advanced tab I have showing, AdHoc Channel, and 802.11b/g checked.

Author:  teo [ Thu Apr 04, 2013 7:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: CF-18 Mk5 wifi hardware switch

Sam! Try to reinstall the wireless Lan switch application. This is different from wireless switch utility.

teo

Author:  orphanlr [ Thu Apr 04, 2013 7:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: CF-18 Mk5 wifi hardware switch

Teo You are the man. I was searcing the panny site and realized I didnt have the switch utility aplication at all, and once I installed it, it works, and I got the little lighting bolt. You were spot on. Thanks guys........

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC-06:00
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
https://www.phpbb.com/