~Toughbooktalk~ Rob - 630-300-8877

The largest Toughbook discussion site on the net!
It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 5:25 am

All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 4:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 1:15 am
Posts: 9
OK... in my 40+ years, I have never had trouble like this, and I've been working on computers since I was 10.

I am trying to get a Palm Symbol SPT1700 to sync with a computer. Finding a computer with a serial port nowadays is impossible, so I've been trying a Prolific USB-to-Serial adapter. On one computer I was able to get the Palm to sync once with the laptop through the adapter and it has refused to retain a connection again ever since.

I have this Panasonic CF-29 Toughbook that actually has a serial port. I have tried EVERYTHING but I cannot get Windows XP to recognize the port. In BIOS, there are three entries - Serial A, Serial B and MP (multimedia) Serial Port. I have tried every combination under the sun of 'enabled,' 'disabled,' and 'manual' for those three but nothing works. I have tried to scan for new hardware. I have even manually added the port. Nothing. I have tried to disable the touchscreen (which doesn't work anyway) as well as the modem and USB legacy support. Nothing has any effect.

I installed the USB-to-Serial adapter on the CF-29 and while it installs fine, the laptop refuses to acknowledge the Palm. I looked at the port of the adapter and it is set to COM4. In the port drop-down menu, it shows that COMs 1,2,3, and 7 are all in use somewhere.

On this laptop, I have Ubuntu and Windows dual booted. I looked under Ubuntu and the serial port is not showing up in dmesg there, either.

On my laptop, there is what looks like a thermal printed label on top of the barcode. The fifth digital is too faded to read, so I pulled the label off and I was able to determine that at one time it had said CF-29H3M50BM, but underneath that, on the original barcode sticker, it says CF-29LQQGCBM. According to this page - http://toughbookcentral.com/guides/15/ - it's either an MK3 or an MK4, but I don't know which or why the additional sticker.

ANY help at all is going to be greatly appreciated!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 5:00 pm 
Offline
Toughbooktalk Founder
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:23 pm
Posts: 3577
FYI,

Modern CF-31's have true RS232 serial too. They are current models :) Same with CF-19's and CF-53's :)

Thanks!

P.S, I did reply to your email too but here it is for everyone to see:

I’m not sure on the Linux part but on a computer as ancient as a CF-29 I’d lean towards a hardware issue.

Typically it should be COM1 on any Toughbook serial port.

You could hook up a serial mouse and test or try hyper term’ing into a cisco firewall or whatever on 9600, 8, 1, NONE settings.

Thanks!

_________________
~Rob - Rugged Depot ~ Cell: (630)/300-8877~

~Fully rugged Toughbook user since April 18th 2005~
~New 3/16/18 - CF-54F0001KM Win10, Intel Core i5 6300U 2.4GHz, 240GB SSD, 12GB, Verizon 4G LTE, Intel 8260 WiFi a/b/g/n/ac, Bluetooth~
~For the wife (New 1/25/18): CF-54F0962KM/i5/128GB SSD/8GB/Win 10~
~Others: CF-52MLBBQ2M (Home Workstation)
~New 11/13/14 Donations thanks to everyone at Toughbooktalk: IBM xSeries 3650/2 x Xeon X5560 2.8GHz/16GB RAM/8 x 600GB 10KRPM SAS RAID 5/3.71TB Space/Win 2008 R2/3000VA + 1250VA Battery Backup~
~AT&T 1GB Fiber 1GB/1GB business static line~
~Gamber & Johnson Diamond Partner~

http://www.toughbooktalk.com
http://www.toughbooktalk.com/public_downloads
http://www.toughwiki.com
http://www.robsnetworks.com
http://www.giganethosting.com


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 5:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 3:19 am
Posts: 193
Location: Old Europe
You could try to force Serial A to be COM1 by assining this irq via bios: 3F8/IRQ4 ... if your particular bios supports this.
Also try running the BIOS Diagnostic utility, which afaik also includes some checks for the uart.

Also try to connect to the palm via PuTTY-COM1 ... you should at least see some gibberish (binary palm data) once a serial connection is established.
How many bouds are spoken by the palm?` How many are supported by the cf29mk3/4s uart?

I also have to ask if you have another computer to verify that the palm serial adapter is working correctly ;-)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 5:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 1:15 am
Posts: 9
Karl Klammer wrote:
You could try to force Serial A to be COM1 by assining this irq via bios: 3F8/IRQ4 ... if your particular bios supports this.
Also try running the BIOS Diagnostic utility, which afaik also includes some checks for the uart.


I have tried manually setting the BIOS to 3F8/IRQ4. No go. OS still doesn't see it.

Quote:
Also try to connect to the palm via PuTTY-COM1 ... you should at least see some gibberish (binary palm data) once a serial connection is established.


There is no COM port to which I can connect PuTTY. That's my problem.

Quote:
How many bouds are spoken by the palm?` How many are supported by the cf29mk3/4s uart?


The Palm is capable of (nearly) everything from 9600 up to 115200. I have tried every combination of baud rate / handshaking / parity / stop bits. That's not the problem. The problem is that the serial port does not exist within the operating system.

Quote:
I also have to ask if you have another computer to verify that the palm serial adapter is working correctly ;-)


I have several others that I am going to have to build just to have access to a serial port. I haven't gotten around to that yet, but again, it's not a matter of the computer not seeing the Palm. It's that the operating system doesn't even see the port.

I don't see a Diagnostics screen in BIOS. In the service manual it talks about a diagnostics floppy disk. I do not have that disk or an image of said disc. I did plug a loop-back connector that I built a while back into the serial port and it does flicker when I first start the laptop, so I know it's at least getting power, but it never flickers again during either OS's boot up.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 5:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 1:15 am
Posts: 9
Rob wrote:
FYI,

Modern CF-31's have true RS232 serial too. They are current models :) Same with CF-19's and CF-53's :)

Thanks!

P.S, I did reply to your email too but here it is for everyone to see:

I’m not sure on the Linux part but on a computer as ancient as a CF-29 I’d lean towards a hardware issue.

Typically it should be COM1 on any Toughbook serial port.

You could hook up a serial mouse and test or try hyper term’ing into a cisco firewall or whatever on 9600, 8, 1, NONE settings.

Thanks!


Yeah, but the CF-29 is the one I have :)

I just hooked up a serial mouse and it didn't see that or an associated COM port. Like I told the other guy, I did plug a loop-back connector that I built a while back into the serial port and it does flicker when I first start the laptop, so I know it's at least getting power, but it never flickers again during either OS's boot up.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 10:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2209
Location: TDR-HQ California
Quote:
Yeah, but the CF-29 is the one I have :)


Exxxxcellent. Good response....my 2 1/2 cents:

1. I like CF-29
2. Never heard of a H3M50BM (HTM50BM...yes)
3. Minimum baud of 9600 is a little weird. 4800 more normal.

And I speak a bit of Linux....in fact using it for diagnostics when I am not feeding sheep or cutting wood...

Code:
dmesg | grep input
What does this say?

Code:
lsusb


If you continue to have problems , I have 25 or so CF-29's.....plus parts galore. PLEASE I am not a salesman.:) I will send you one if you need it.

Good luck,

Jeff

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 6:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 1:15 am
Posts: 9
Sadlmkr wrote:
Quote:
Yeah, but the CF-29 is the one I have :)


Exxxxcellent. Good response....my 2 1/2 cents:

1. I like CF-29
2. Never heard of a H3M50BM (HTM50BM...yes)


That was the thermal printed label on top of the original and yeah.. it's a 3.

Quote:
3. Minimum baud of 9600 is a little weird. 4800 more normal.


That's as low as it goes and that is also the default that the USB-to-serial adapter defaults to.

Quote:
And I speak a bit of Linux....in fact using it for diagnostics when I am not feeding sheep or cutting wood...

Code:
dmesg | grep input
What does this say?


Lid Switch
Power Button
Power Button
Macintosh mouse button emulation
AT Translated Set 2 keyboard
Video Bus
Panasonic Laptop Support
PS/2 Touchpad
LBPS/2 Fujitsu Lifebook Touchscreen

You didn't ask, but I also did a grep on TTY (never thought to do input) and nothing at all shows up unless I plug the USB-to-Serial adapter in.

Quote:
Code:
lsusb


Bus 004... Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003... "
Bus 002... "
Bus 001... Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

Quote:
If you continue to have problems , I have 25 or so CF-29's.....plus parts galore. PLEASE I am not a salesman.:) I will send you one if you need it.

Good luck,

Jeff


What would you want for one of the 29's? Having a working serial port would be a GREAT help! (and a working touchscreen wouldn't be bad either.)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 8:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2209
Location: TDR-HQ California
I have several MK4 that I can't give away these days.....(krap).sticky A key is handy...(working on the client's CF-30 with the rice on the keyboard)(One of his mechanics likes rice and bean burritos apparently)

I need at least shipping cost. For the 120 hour MK4 the price goes up:).....talk later and PM about that.

PM your address and I'll find a box. Pay me whenever/whatever. BTW medium flat rate is +- $20.00. Priority USPS.

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2017 11:11 pm 
Offline
Toughbooktalk Founder
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:23 pm
Posts: 3577
Jeff,

H3M50BM would mean NON-touch. Your HTM50BM is a touch model :)

The 2nd digit being a 3 back in those days meant non-touch. Same with CF-30's :)

_________________
~Rob - Rugged Depot ~ Cell: (630)/300-8877~

~Fully rugged Toughbook user since April 18th 2005~
~New 3/16/18 - CF-54F0001KM Win10, Intel Core i5 6300U 2.4GHz, 240GB SSD, 12GB, Verizon 4G LTE, Intel 8260 WiFi a/b/g/n/ac, Bluetooth~
~For the wife (New 1/25/18): CF-54F0962KM/i5/128GB SSD/8GB/Win 10~
~Others: CF-52MLBBQ2M (Home Workstation)
~New 11/13/14 Donations thanks to everyone at Toughbooktalk: IBM xSeries 3650/2 x Xeon X5560 2.8GHz/16GB RAM/8 x 600GB 10KRPM SAS RAID 5/3.71TB Space/Win 2008 R2/3000VA + 1250VA Battery Backup~
~AT&T 1GB Fiber 1GB/1GB business static line~
~Gamber & Johnson Diamond Partner~

http://www.toughbooktalk.com
http://www.toughbooktalk.com/public_downloads
http://www.toughwiki.com
http://www.robsnetworks.com
http://www.giganethosting.com


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 12:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 1:15 am
Posts: 9
Rob wrote:
Jeff,

H3M50BM would mean NON-touch. Your HTM50BM is a touch model :)

The 2nd digit being a 3 back in those days meant non-touch. Same with CF-30's :)


That wouldn't make sense, though. I am (pretty damn sure) that the number reads 3, not T. I am, however, 100% sure that the model I have is a touchscreen model. I had it working for a little bit, but there is a broken connection to/in the digitizer so it quit working again.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited