~Toughbooktalk~ Rob - 630-300-8877

The largest Toughbook discussion site on the net!
It is currently Thu Jul 19, 2018 10:51 pm

All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 1:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 9:06 am
Posts: 80
So I'll get right to it:
my sister has a cf-29htm50bm running xp sp3, and a few months back, the windows wifi managed intel 21xx (or whatever that pos stock card is) stopped working. On the phone, i walked her through how to fire up the proset, and she got it working. I figured it was the intel card crapping out.
So I finally ordered, received, and just threw in an EMP-8206+ (not s) into hers and mine. My 29 is loving it.

hers is still not letting windows configure and/or detect networks when managed by windows. When managed by the Engenious suit, it works fine. I installed the same card, and software, with the same procedure(s) on both machines (mine is mk1, hers is mk3).
Why? What would cause a perfectly operating install of xp to just stop letting WZC work?

Thanks!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 2:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2208
Location: TDR-HQ California
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/871122
You saw this where some vendors don't play with WZC?
Personally I don't use WZC or at least if I do it's in the background. I "Let Windows Manage my wireless etc."
Different marks don't play the same. Like CF-30F won't run Ubuntu without acpi=off in the boot menu" ACPI runs stuff like function keys.:) Hence Jeff don't have an F.:)

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 3:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 9:06 am
Posts: 80
....sorry...when I say wzc I mean windows Wireless Zero Configuration (the same thing u like to use)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2011 4:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2208
Location: TDR-HQ California
Yeah I know but I never get into it. Plus I mostly use Ubuntu which plays with "most" if not all modern cards.
OK I looked it up....opened it up. I see what you mean.
What I meant is I don't go any farther than Proset "let windows etc".

Clarification????I don't click Wireless Zero Configuration".

Has little to do with your problem sorry 'bout muddying the water.

Jeff

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 7:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 12:19 am
Posts: 232
#1- I have had several Windows XP installs randomly eat the WZC on work machines. I never could find a real explanation except that Windows just does what it does, if it wants to, and when it wants to.

#2- SBC unit. Nuff said. :P


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 8:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2208
Location: TDR-HQ California
Quote:
Make sure the computer does not have two anti-virus or two firewalls installed. If you are using the Windows firewall, disable the McAfee firewall or vice-versa.
From here.http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q= ... cpW_bw58UA

I was looking for ipconfig...iwconfig iwconfig /all.

Jeff

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 9:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 9:06 am
Posts: 80
ok..... firewalls.... that sounds reasonable. It does "networks detected", but nothing ever comes up when I scan for networks. I'll check that out.

**EDIT**And mine's not an sbc, afaik. I swapped out the wwan antenna from my sisters sbc to my 29CWGKZDM (I don't know what field it came from, but the ts was indeed iffy)**EDIT**
we aren't talking about my unit, we are talking about her SBC unit.... DUH!


Last edited by interestingfellow on Sun Dec 25, 2011 11:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 11:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 9:06 am
Posts: 80
nope. not firewalls.
And I just reread your post, Sadlmkr. I think I'll try the fix in that kb article. however, the issue first started:
with stock software/stock cf29 disk image.
with the stock intel 21xx card that everyone here has (or had) in their 29's
and it worked fine for 6 months or so, and then just started having problems
AND it's also having the same behavior with the EMP-8602+ 400mw card.

I just told her this morning I would probably have to back her crap up, and reload the OS. She's about due anyway.
I'll report back after the reload, unless anyone has a miraculous epiphany before then.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 11:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2208
Location: TDR-HQ California
Does this happen on the same wireless router? You thought of that I'm sure. Ram? :confused:

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 4:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 9:06 am
Posts: 80
I dunno.... her 29 does it with every wifi network...or should I say, did.

I got fed up, copied her doc/settings folder, and threw in the mk3 restore disks I have.
Copied her crap back over, and reinstalled everything.

Problem solved.
Backup being made, right now.
:D

SIDEBAR:
It's the holidays, and all the sisters are in from colleges.... with computer problems and broken laptops. I fix what I can, and keep what I can't for parts. there is a nice 250wbev in this gateway right here..... sata adapter, here I come.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited