~Toughbooktalk~ Rob - 630-300-8877

The largest Toughbook discussion site on the net!
It is currently Sat Jul 21, 2018 3:37 am

All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 7:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 1:13 pm
Posts: 62
Sounds like you need more batteries.

I'll be around for awhile and notate anything else I find. Whenever you or anyone thinks of something to test, I'll be checking in now and again through out the day this week at least to see. I realise the database of information is a little lacking on the 31.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 8:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 1:52 pm
Posts: 531
Location: Hotlanta, GA, USA!
The CF-31 seems very much like the CF-30 to me, more so then the 30 to the 29.

_________________
I am what I am, somebody has to be.
Call me for free from anywhere in the USA from my homepage! http://www.azrial.com/
CF-31JEGAX1M Mk2 Intel i5-2520M 2.50 GHz, Win7x64 & Ubuntu x64 14.04LTS Dual Boot, 16GB RAM, Samsung 250GB SSD, 2x64GB USB FD, 64GB SDHC, GOBI 4000, BUGPS, IBM AC/DC Supply #22P9003


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 9:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 1:13 pm
Posts: 62
It does feel like a closer bump from the 30 to 31. I think, given the nature of how computing has reached some better level of standardization in both components and construction, that the paths should become smoother on the whole.

I am still trying to puzzle the model number though, as it does not seem to follow standard formatting. Configurator doesn't register it either.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 9:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2951
core 2 duo to i5 is a big hardware jump.

_________________
Life will beat you into submission.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 4:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2208
Location: TDR-HQ California
I have a couple batteries, I just need to charge them. :)

Just to clarify CF-31 went to Interlink Touchpad at MK2.

There's a thread about it here some-place.

This 1110 hour CF-29 is messing with me. FYI if you get pastel bios colors go back inside and plug the lcd ALL THE Way in. :doh: The one under the keyboard. And the touchscreen repair didn't take again. :doh: I hope techtuff is reading his mail.

viewtopic.php?f=39&t=2662&start=40&hilit=interlink Has nothing to do with CF-31 MK1 just CASUAL READING

Jeff

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 7:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 1:13 pm
Posts: 62
Using Qubes, it is not seeing the touchpad... So this "casual" reading might be necessary.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 9:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 7:39 am
Posts: 655
Location: Canada
Sadlmkr wrote:
I have a couple batteries, I just need to charge them. :)

Just to clarify CF-31 went to Interlink Touchpad at MK2.

There's a thread about it here some-place.

This 1110 hour CF-29 is messing with me. FYI if you get pastel bios colors go back inside and plug the lcd ALL THE Way in. :doh: The one under the keyboard. And the touchscreen repair didn't take again. :doh: I hope techtuff is reading his mail.

http://toughbooktalk.com/viewtopic.php? ... =interlink Has nothing to do with CF-31 MK1 just CASUAL READING

Jeff


Thank goodness I missed that thread. I would have been pontificating about why some of you went through sudo hell and should never use it. :rofl:

_________________
CF-19 MK2 TOUCHSCREEN || CF-19 MK2 DIGITIZER || CF-30 MK3 "Jeff Edition" || CF-19 MK4


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 10:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2208
Location: TDR-HQ California
droppointalpha wrote:
Using Qubes, it is not seeing the touchpad... So this "casual" reading might be necessary.


Any input is appreciated.

With the weird model # you may have gotten a MK1 with a Interlink pad. Odd.

As I recall, the Interlink thinks it's a PS/2 mouse. Page three or four we started getting the idea.

What is Qubes?

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 11:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 1:13 pm
Posts: 62
https://www.qubes-os.org/

It is an interesting method of security through (by my view) an incredible level of virtualization for one machine. Doesn't run bad on this mk1 either and is far more resource efficient than using Oracle's free version of their VM software.

It is kinda strange, with all the various virtualizations and the AdminVM is very restricted... It is a big download but if you want to try the variation I'm working with, find below.

https://www.whonix.org/wiki/Download

EDIT
Didn't see anything that might be useful in Qubes. I'm not sure how to approach the admin level VM or the Xen hypervisor. The settings panel for the admin level shows the touchpad greyed out.

The possibility of an interlink pad did dawn on me, as the texture of this one is unlike any toughbook I have handled yet. But then the fact that my both Debian and Arch based distros have detected and functioned no problem make me wonder.

The Hypervisor and general build theory isolate USB controllers. If I have an interlink, does it still use PS/2? I see the touchscreen under USB controllers in Qubes, which has a convenient hardware display pane I can access somewhat similar to device manager in windows. I'm not sure how to check which controllers and what devices fall under USB in Mint except using lsusb, which is not telling me anything particularly useful.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 7:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 1:13 pm
Posts: 62
Okay, haven't got much further (for lack of effort- visiting family and all that) but what little I have read is not been helpful. So I plan to start at square one. I still have the Win7 HDD the unit came with; I will attempt to ascertain the exact make/model touchpad and see how windows sees the device.

Simultaneously, I need to read more about how to view and manipulate how linux sees, points, and interacts w/ HIDs, as I am woefully unfamiliar.

I'll report what I find on the touch pad and situation. Hopefully, one of you or myself may stumble upon a solution that furthers our knowledge.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited