~Toughbooktalk~ Rob - 630-300-8877

The largest Toughbook discussion site on the net!
It is currently Sun Dec 10, 2017 10:13 pm

All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2866
CF52 dual boot Zorin / win7

I decided to resize partitions using Easeus free.
shrunk win7 partition..
Now I get grub error.. :cussing:
grub rescue.... :wtf: :mad: :cussing: :cussing: :mad: :cussing: :mad: :cussing: :mad: :cussing: :mad: :cussing:

:help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help:

_________________
Life will beat you into submission.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2866
Anybody try this?
It looks easy..

http://sourceforge.net/p/boot-repair-cd/home/Home/

_________________
Life will beat you into submission.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 9:02 pm
Posts: 30
Did you install linux/grub before the resize. You should have resized the partition before linux install, I use gparted live for partition resize. Please post error, I might be able to help on this.

_________________
CF-19KHRAX2M upgraded to 4gb ram and 128gb ssd, adding gps.
CF-30FASEZAM upgraded to 4gb ram, sr71 wlan and 128gb ssd, adding gps


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2866
Installed Win7..400gb partition
installed Zorin 9...60gb partition
Ran system for a week or two
Decided I did not need a 400gb Win7 boot partition..
Used Easeus to split Win7 400gb partition into 150gb win7 partition and 250gb data storage partition.....
Now it boots to command line.................. grub rescue


From what I read,,,
I think that's what caused the issue...The system re lettered the drives....Grub is lost..can't find it's data..

Lots of things I should have done,,,Should have kept Zorin on a separate HDD....TOO late for should haves now......

_________________
Life will beat you into submission.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 8:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 9:02 pm
Posts: 30
can you boot into linux (Zorin)? if so then you need to go to command line and run update-grub as root (su if you have a root account or sudo if not). if you cannot boot into linux then you need a live distro, Zorin might have one. then you need to mount the root partition of your hard drive, then run update-grub. if this is not clear enough then let me know and I can write clearer direction, just did not want to assume you are newbie level.

_________________
CF-19KHRAX2M upgraded to 4gb ram and 128gb ssd, adding gps.
CF-30FASEZAM upgraded to 4gb ram, sr71 wlan and 128gb ssd, adding gps


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 8:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 7:39 am
Posts: 651
Location: Canada
Shawn wrote:


Funny you mention that. I tried that yesterday on a system that couldn't get grub installed properly over a RAID1 with 4TB GPT volumes. It didn't work and I ended up fixing it manually as usual. But I do think I tried that on a dual boot system about two years ago and it fixed it immediately. That jumping lady logo made me realize I had used this before, but forgotten.

It will automatically run grub-install with the appropriate arguments after it collects information on your bootable partitions.

_________________
CF-19 MK2 TOUCHSCREEN || CF-19 MK2 DIGITIZER || CF-30 MK3 "Jeff Edition" || CF-19 MK4


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 8:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 9:02 pm
Posts: 30
kewl new tool that I have not seen as yet, I have HUNDREDS of tools for all kinds of things so I am not suprised that I missed a few. I will say that I prefer gparted live for partitioning storage, it works on linux, windows, mac, unix, etc partitions.

_________________
CF-19KHRAX2M upgraded to 4gb ram and 128gb ssd, adding gps.
CF-30FASEZAM upgraded to 4gb ram, sr71 wlan and 128gb ssd, adding gps


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 8:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2866
error is.....I don't know much about Linux....

error: unknown filesystem
entering rescue mode
grub rescue

I can not graphically boot into anything other than grub rescue...
I do have Zorin live cd 64 bit and 32 bit..
Figuring out which is root maybe difficult....I did a LS(read that online this AM)
It comes up hd0 msdos1 hd0 msdos2...etc..they are all labeled msdos

Unless warned otherwise, I will try that tool when I get home tonight..

_________________
Life will beat you into submission.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 12:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 7:39 am
Posts: 651
Location: Canada
Try it. Unless you have some sort of funky setup, it should breeze through it easily.

_________________
CF-19 MK2 TOUCHSCREEN || CF-19 MK2 DIGITIZER || CF-30 MK3 "Jeff Edition" || CF-19 MK4


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 3:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2866
Restore disk did not work
I ran it and it said copy paste to terminal, which I did....
I then went back to dialog box and hit next,
It said Grub was still installed..try again....
Multiple tries failed....

I then had a couple ideas..
First was boot a win7 disk and let win7 replace grub with a win7 bootloader
Win7 repair did not find any existing OS's...

Oh well let's try idea number two...
Boot Live Zorin DVD....
Gparted and delete the newly created data partition, since the new partition caused the problem...
That should restore the drive letters back..
It worked....I am back into win7...

BUT...I want to completely remove GRUB, dual boot and Zorin from this CF52
HOW????

Linux is worse than a (&$#&@% virus! I can't get rid of it.
I still ain't impressed with Linux..And my opinion is gittin worse....
Terminal to install and uninstall programs? really?? Did I miss a few decades somewhere?
Hold on while I boot my win3.11--80286DX 20mhz...20mb.MFM hard drive(YES I used to own one and USE it)(It was my SECOND computer).....

After I relax a bit, by seeing what a loaded freight train does to Linux DVD's
I will try the win7 install dvd repair again..See if it finds the existing win7 install and offers to rewrite the bootloader.

_________________
Life will beat you into submission.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited