~Toughbooktalk~ Rob - 630-300-8877

The largest Toughbook discussion site on the net!
It is currently Sun Dec 10, 2017 10:11 pm

All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: cpu useage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 4:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 8:01 pm
Posts: 489
Location: New England
I ran across this command for Terminal in the Navigatrix site and found it interesting. It reports I believe what is running in terms of useage. I need to read more but in a Terminal type this:
Code:
sudo top
I ran it on the gun using crunchbang and found this screen shot:


Attachments:
File comment: Try running the code and see what pops
top.png
top.png [ 670.82 KiB | Viewed 1733 times ]

_________________
CF-53 MX-16
CF-30 MK2 SSD LMDE2 Betsy, MK2 Navigatrix, Fundraiser for TbT
CF-52 GUN SSD LMDE2 Betsy(NICE) Thanks Sadlmkr
CF-M34 MicroWattR8 Thanks Sadlmkr
CF-33 MicroWattR8 Thanks Springfield
CF-29 MX-16 (https://mxlinux.org/)
CF-28 MK3 MX-14.3 & MicroWattR8
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: cpu useage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 8:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 7:39 am
Posts: 651
Location: Canada
It's a useful tool. I prefer htop, though. If you don't have it installed, just grab it from your repo, like "apt-get install htop" or whatever your distro uses. Also iftop for network interfaces and powertop for laptop power usage is particularly useful.

_________________
CF-19 MK2 TOUCHSCREEN || CF-19 MK2 DIGITIZER || CF-30 MK3 "Jeff Edition" || CF-19 MK4


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: cpu useage
PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 9:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2177
Location: TDR-HQ California
Thanks gentleman/ladies?, that was new to me.

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: cpu useage
PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 9:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 7:39 am
Posts: 651
Location: Canada
powertop is especially useful when you're trying to eke out every last milliwatt from a laptop's battery and you need to find out what's using it. These days I just haul a half-dozen batteries instead.

Nick.
not a lady

_________________
CF-19 MK2 TOUCHSCREEN || CF-19 MK2 DIGITIZER || CF-30 MK3 "Jeff Edition" || CF-19 MK4


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: cpu useage
PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 5:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 8:01 pm
Posts: 489
Location: New England
kode-niner wrote:
It's a useful tool. I prefer htop, though. If you don't have it installed, just grab it from your repo, like "apt-get install htop" or whatever your distro uses. Also iftop for network interfaces and powertop for laptop power usage is particularly useful.

Thank you Kode-Niner
I'll try out the code and let you know...cool beans as they say in Pennsylvania...

_________________
CF-53 MX-16
CF-30 MK2 SSD LMDE2 Betsy, MK2 Navigatrix, Fundraiser for TbT
CF-52 GUN SSD LMDE2 Betsy(NICE) Thanks Sadlmkr
CF-M34 MicroWattR8 Thanks Sadlmkr
CF-33 MicroWattR8 Thanks Springfield
CF-29 MX-16 (https://mxlinux.org/)
CF-28 MK3 MX-14.3 & MicroWattR8


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: cpu useage
PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 6:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 7:39 am
Posts: 651
Location: Canada
Assuming your system is a Debian derivative:
Code:
sudo apt-get install htop
sudo apt-get install iftop
sudo apt-get install powertop


Powertop needs to be run as root or a superuser
Code:
sudo powertop
Use the tab key to shuffle through powertop displays.

For iftop, it also only runs as root and you may have to supply your interface as an argument. For example:
For wifi:
Code:
sudo iftop -i wlan0

For ethernet:
Code:
sudo iftop -i eth0

For WWAN:
Code:
sudo iftop -i ppp0

If you get command not found and you are using sudo, you may need to supply the full path to iftop (/usr/sbin/iftop for example)

To find out what your interfaces are, just type
Code:
ifconfig

or
Code:
/sbin/ifconfig

ifconfig outputs interface information when used without arguments as above, the interface name should be on the left of each paragraph. You use that name after the -i of the iftop command like the examples above.

There are other arguments for iftop that can be useful. Such as
Show port numbers:
Code:
iftop -i wlan0 -P

Don't resolve IPs
Code:
iftop -i wlan0 -n

_________________
CF-19 MK2 TOUCHSCREEN || CF-19 MK2 DIGITIZER || CF-30 MK3 "Jeff Edition" || CF-19 MK4


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: cpu useage
PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 9:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2177
Location: TDR-HQ California
Thank you, kode....reading if not replying. Appreciate it.

J'd

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited