~Toughbooktalk~ Rob - 630-300-8877

The largest Toughbook discussion site on the net!
It is currently Mon Jun 18, 2018 12:57 pm

All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 5:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2206
Location: TDR-HQ California
I agree with the sticky suggestion.
The most interesting thing about this is the way shutting/reopening the lid instantly fixes it for the session. This would be handy to remember if someone had a bios locked but was able to load Linux from USB or DVD.
CF-19 MK3 are flickering rascals as I remember.

So someone ask their favorite Linux forum why this occurs. I never got around to it. I have seen the gist of this thread in several places....and not just about Toughbooks. The 'ix guys are reading our mail. :D

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 6:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 7:39 am
Posts: 655
Location: Canada
I haven't looked at this problem in a while. I'm guessing it's fixed from a certain kernel version and onwards like Morgan was saying, because I can't find any trace of resolution-switching-shenanigans in my desktop startup routines or my grub conf anymore. I've been steadily keeping my CF-30 up to date.

I honestly do not remember removing these workarounds we had going in this thread.

_________________
CF-19 MK2 TOUCHSCREEN || CF-19 MK2 DIGITIZER || CF-30 MK3 "Jeff Edition" || CF-19 MK4


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 6:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 10:08 am
Posts: 8
Not quite fixed with the new installs, but your first method has so far taken care of the issue for me. Thank you for adding it to your first post.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 9:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2206
Location: TDR-HQ California
Which first?

I'm assuming setting monitor to internal????

Thanks for the bump.

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 7:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 10:08 am
Posts: 8
Forcing the display modeset via grub. The Method 1 that he added to the original post.

So far everything seems to be working fine, but I haven't spent that much time on it lately.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited