~Toughbooktalk~ Rob - 630-300-8877

The largest Toughbook discussion site on the net!
It is currently Sun Dec 10, 2017 10:08 pm

All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2014 11:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2177
Location: TDR-HQ California
Good. The 64 bit?

You know about xinput-calibrate yes?

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2014 5:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 144
Nope didn't know about it and yes 64 bit


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2014 6:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2177
Location: TDR-HQ California
O.K. then since you bought a TB from me here's the short version.

First you going to have to use the terminal.

1. In terminal make a directory like this:
Code:
sudo mkdir /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d


2. You can use the synaptic package manager but why not just type:
Code:
sudo apt-get install xinput-calibrator


3. Leave terminal open and open the menu. Type cali and the calibrator should appear. After it runs you will have two terminals open. Leave em open.

4. Now we need a text editor. Might as well use nano. In the first terminal you opened type
Code:
sudo nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/99-calibration.conf
##the caps and spaces are important.

5. Cut and paste the info calibrator wrote in the second terminal. From Section to End Section. [CTRL]X to save.

Personally I prefer gedit text editor but just 'cause I'm used to it. From terminal
Code:
sudo apt-get install gedit
To use it
Code:
sudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/99-calibration.conf


"bout as short as it get with a few extras.

Jeff....terminal is your friend
I have made an edit in the code here.

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Last edited by SHEEPMAN! on Fri Jun 06, 2014 4:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2014 7:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 144
Sadlmkr wrote:
O.K. then since you bought a TB from me here's the short version.

First you going to have to use the terminal.

1. In terminal make a directory like this:
Code:
sudo mkdir /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d


2. You can use the synaptic package manager but why not just type:
Code:
sudo apt-get install xinput-calibrator


3. Leave terminal open and open the menu. Type cali and the calibrator should appear. After it runs you will have two terminals open. Leave em open.

4. Now we need a text editor. Might as well use nano. In the first terminal you opened type
Code:
sudo nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/99-calibration.conf
##the caps and spaces are important.

5. Cut and paste the info calibrator wrote in the second terminal. From Section to End Section. [CTRL]X to save.

Personally I prefer gedit text editor but just 'cause I'm used to it. From terminal
Code:
sudo get-install gedit
To use it
Code:
sudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/99-calibration.conf


"bout as short as it get with a few extras.

Jeff....terminal is your friend




thanks alot Jeff, worked great! sorry im still learning, learning more about terminal too...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2014 7:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 144
has anyone found anything to work with the built in gps??? i saw navit but i tried it and then had to run and havent had time to tinker anymore today


Edit: :doh: i just needed to read down a few more threads

Edit edit: I can't get the printer(Epson) to load on this...but I figured out how toload on to a...(don't laugh) old MacBook pro, and it brought it back alive...it had out dated Mac os on it...anyways..the printer loaded fund on it(this is going to be for my oldest daughter to use and she loves it now


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 2:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2177
Location: TDR-HQ California
What's the model number for the printer?

Are you sure it's not here? (see image)

[Menu] start typing syna.... when it pops up hit [Enter]
Here is where you will find out if you installed the updates. Package Manager will kinda work but way better after updates.

There's always terminal. :D If you know the exact package name. Like:
Code:
sudo-apt-get install printer-driver-escpr
The package manager will suggest the dependencies. Always answer yes.:)

Have you read down to our stuff about FoxtrotGPS?

I installed a script to run it in my menu just today....yeah I know what time it is. Try
Code:
sudo apt-get install gpsd gpsd-clients
Both have dependencies. Don't worry just let Linux do it.

Then run
Code:
sudo gpsd -D 5 -N -n /dev/ttyS2


Real quick D 5 is details with a lot of action.
-n fires the gpsd without waiting for a "client'.
-N stands for run in foreground. :D Details in terminal at
Code:
man gpsd
Stands for manual. :rofl: Call me back when you have read it all. :rofl:
Linux starts counting at 0. So com3 is S2. S for serial. In my case I'm running a Gobi 2000 GPS and it uses /dev/ttyUSB1. (second USB connection)

Stick with Mint a little while and you will really like it. Mint 13,14,15,16 and 17 install my wireless printer in a minute or so. M$ wants a 15 minute download. :doh:

Hey, go into [MENU] [Users and Groups] and change yourself to account type administrator. For sure you will need dial-out privileges for gps work. Admin covers them all.

There, that's about all I know.

J'd


Attachments:
epson.png
epson.png [ 41.87 KiB | Viewed 1212 times ]

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 4:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 144
I'llhave to try it later on today I gotta go to work now... But when you install it with the add printer it gets half way thru andlicks down, I'll try what you said... But for now the days starting and I need coffee lol


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 5:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 7:38 pm
Posts: 7
CF-30CQQACBM - OS: Linux 3.13.0-24-generic/i686 - Distro: Linux Mint 17 Qiana - CPU: 2 x Intel Core Duo (1000.000 MHz) - Processes: 170 - Uptime: 4h - Users: 2 - Load Average: 0.19 - Memory Usage: 985.33MB/3273.88MB (30.10%) - Disk Usage: 153.79GB/228.26GB (67.38%)

and for those of you that missed it

Code:
$ cd /usr/sbin
$ sudo wget http://imbezol.org/sysinfo/sysinfo281.21.pl
$ sudo chmod 755 /usr/sbin/sysinfo281.21.pl
$ /usr/sbin/sysinfo281.21.pl


So I have a test platform for a MK1 CF-30 , kinda ...
Any bluez , blueman , blueball gurus here ? headset pairs but refuses to connect ;-/

~kop

_________________
kop-CF-30CQQACBM - OS: Linux 3.11.0-12-generic/i686 - Distro: Linux Mint 16 Petra - CPU: 2 x Intel Core Duo (1000.000 MHz) - Processes: 167 - Uptime: 16h 35m - Users: 3 - Load Average: 0.45 - Memory Usage: 670.86MB/992.74MB (67.58%) - Disk Usage: 4.09GB/72.73GB (5.62%)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 6:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2177
Location: TDR-HQ California
Change headsets. I fought this until Cleve felt sorry for me and sent me a better set. It only starts right if the dongle is installed prior to boot but runs flawlessly after that.

I gave up on bluetooth.

[ 4917.004049] usb 5-1: new full-speed USB device number 2 using uhci_hcd
[ 4917.746099] usb 5-1: New USB device found, idVendor=046d, idProduct=0a1f
[ 4917.746105] usb 5-1: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
[ 4917.746109] usb 5-1: Product: Logitech G930 Headset
[ 4917.746113] usb 5-1: Manufacturer: Logitech
[ 4917.762171] input: Logitech Logitech G930 Headset as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.0/usb5/5-1/5-1:1.3/input/input11
[ 4917.762333] hid-generic 0003:046D:0A1F.0002: input,hiddev0,hidraw1: USB HID v1.01 Device [Logitech Logitech G930 Headset] on usb-0000:00:1d.0-1/input3
[ 4917.912427] usbcore: registered new interface driver snd-usb-audio

Take it back. Bluetooth worked today.

[ 5413.153078] input: 00:0D:44:FA:8F:BB as /devices/virtual/input/input12
[ 5418.408105] Bluetooth: hci0 SCO packet for unknown connection handle 45
[ 5418.408111] Bluetooth: hci0 SCO packet for unknown connection handle 45
[ 5418.408114] Bluetooth: hci0 SCO packet for unknown connection handle 45
[ 5418.408116] Bluetooth: hci0 SCO packet for unknown connection handle 45
[ 5418.408118] Bluetooth: hci0 SCO packet for unknown connection handle 45

1. Set lappy bluetooth to visibility on.
2. Set headset to be discoverable. Rapid flash.
3. On pop-up wait until device is found and hit enter. Ignore the other stuff.
4. Left click volume in panel--- scroll down to your device.
5. To hot-start H800 you may need to hold volume up while turning it on. Wait for solid light. Then maybe do #4 again.

Hope this helps...it worked today. My wife uses a H800 and must have it work and that is the only reason she runs W7. (CF-30MK2) Uses dongle in back with the door open so she can move around. I don't trust bluetooth yet.

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 7:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 10:47 am
Posts: 144
OK, new issue arised, went to boot into linux and Failed to start X server (your graphical interface).....alot of googling and tinkering got it running but it isnt finding the video card.....now a ton of updates like it was corupt...im lost :doh:


The file was /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/99-calibration.conf

End up doing
Code:
sudo Xorg -configure
sudo cp/home/(username)/xorg.conf.new /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/99-calibration.conf
startx



then it booted...maybe i messed something up now when it started said its not running with a graphics driver or what now and may use more cpu than normal....but its running lol

edit again, another reboot... its working like it was before the issue...... :doh:


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited