~Toughbooktalk~ Rob - 630-300-8877

The largest Toughbook discussion site on the net!
It is currently Mon Jul 16, 2018 9:33 pm

All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Drop sensor
PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2017 4:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 2:07 pm
Posts: 7
Hello everyone:

Do any of you happen to know if the CF-19's have any type of accelerometer in them? Or does anyone have any cost effective solutions to something of this effect? I want to try to identify when staff members for my company drop their Toughbooks. I was looking into stick-on drop sensors for shipping packages but that's low-tech, hard to track, and no fun. Ideally, I'd like to know as much information as possible about the drops. Such as: what user was signed in when it was dropped, when it was dropped, what distance it fell, etc. If I used a stick-on drop sensor then staff would have to add it to their equipment checks and I'd have to register each serial number and implement an entire new procedure and it'd be too much he said/she said. (example: "ShockWatch" drop detector). Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

Matt


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Drop sensor
PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2017 9:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2947
hm...interesting idea

_________________
Life will beat you into submission.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Drop sensor
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 1:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 3:19 am
Posts: 193
Location: Old Europe
some older WD harddisks have that built in
http://wdc.custhelp.com/app/answers/det ... feature%3F


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Drop sensor
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 7:21 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2947
Something like this would be simple to fit. I am sure cheaper versions are available. Very easy if the CF19's do not have a WWAN card. Use a small adapter to use the WWAN usb.

http://www.robotshop.com/en/phidgetspat ... meter.html

Attachment:
phidgetspatial-axis-usb-accelerometer-a-large.jpg
phidgetspatial-axis-usb-accelerometer-a-large.jpg [ 359.33 KiB | Viewed 935 times ]


Attachment:
mini_pcie-usb3.0.jpg
mini_pcie-usb3.0.jpg [ 54.57 KiB | Viewed 935 times ]

_________________
Life will beat you into submission.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Drop sensor
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 7:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2208
Location: TDR-HQ California
The mini-pcie has 3.0 hmmmm I like that. :) I wonder what amps and volts are.....

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Drop sensor
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 2:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2015 3:24 pm
Posts: 278
SHEEPMAN! wrote:
The mini-pcie has 3.0 hmmmm I like that. :) I wonder what amps and volts are.....

I have one of those in my 31 for BT, since I use a 7260AC. What'd you wanna know?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Drop sensor
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 3:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 2:07 pm
Posts: 7
Karl Klammer wrote:
some older WD harddisks have that built in
http://wdc.custhelp.com/app/answers/det ... feature%3F


That's pretty clever! Too bad they aren't SSD's. But overall definitely an option worthy of consideration. Thank you :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Drop sensor
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 3:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 2:07 pm
Posts: 7
Shawn wrote:
Something like this would be simple to fit. I am sure cheaper versions are available. Very easy if the CF19's do not have a WWAN card. Use a small adapter to use the WWAN usb.

http://www.robotshop.com/en/phidgetspat ... meter.html

phidgetspatial-axis-usb-accelerometer-a-large.jpg

mini_pcie-usb3.0.jpg


That's an awesome solution... but it'd have to be WAY cheaper lol. I have to do whatever I go with to 100+ Toughbooks. Maybe there's one I can just pop in the side port where the PC/Express cards go? Also, I'm confused how those two parts would go together. Would it be something like the image I attached below? (sorry for the poor photoshop skills lol). Thank you very much for your help :)


Attachments:
Untitled-1.jpg
Untitled-1.jpg [ 79.38 KiB | Viewed 914 times ]
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Drop sensor
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 4:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2947
User32 wrote:
SHEEPMAN! wrote:
The mini-pcie has 3.0 hmmmm I like that. :) I wonder what amps and volts are.....

I have one of those in my 31 for BT, since I use a 7260AC. What'd you wanna know?


what do you have the optional kit configuration set to?

_________________
Life will beat you into submission.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Drop sensor
PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2017 5:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2015 3:24 pm
Posts: 278
Shawn wrote:
User32 wrote:
SHEEPMAN! wrote:
The mini-pcie has 3.0 hmmmm I like that. :) I wonder what amps and volts are.....

I have one of those in my 31 for BT, since I use a 7260AC. What'd you wanna know?


what do you have the optional kit configuration set to?

IIRC the default one, not sure which one it is.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited