My new CF-19 MK5 Build, and maybe a redo on my MK1...

Post all questions and information about the CF-19 in here.
thewanderlustking

My new CF-19 MK5 Build, and maybe a redo on my MK1...

#1 Post by thewanderlustking »

Over here I started a thread asking what version to get: I think the consensus was biased towards the MK6 vs the MK5. But most importantly, I got enough information to feel comfortable with the differences. I went with a MK5 that I managed to get for $150!

And even before I have plugged it in or put a battery and drive caddy into it, I could not be happier! First off this computer is PRISTINE! Not a SINGLE dent, ding, scratch, or any other blemish that I can find!!! In fact it is so nice, I am likely buying a second one! I could easily resell it if I decided not to be greedy.

And then the bonus. I am a bit of a tech geek and into drones amongst other things. So for a while now I have had some Air Combat Command stickers on my watch list. With the specific purpose of wanting to remove the Toughbook lid badge and put that there. Well this is a GENUINE MIL-STD-810G Air Combat Command laptop! And at a quick glance, it is decked out too!

There is a SIM card slot underneath the headphone and mic jacks. So pretty good change it has a WWAN sled in it. I can't wait to power it up, but so stoked I wanted to share first!

The bad (so far). Well it was supposed to come with AC adapter and battery. But no HDD or caddy. It came with NONE of them.... I will contact the seller and hopefully that gets sorted out. If so, I am more than willing to buy another from him.

My MK1... I need to do something with it. No idea WHAT yet though. For the moment I will be stealing parts off of it to get the MK5 running. I have a MK1 XP recovery disc, so at least a way to load something into it quickly. If I even use the HDD from it. Currently, it is loaded with W7 32 bit. That is not a small feat to accomplish as many of you know, so I won't likely mess with that drive now.