~Toughbooktalk~ Rob - 630-300-8877

The largest Toughbook discussion site on the net!
It is currently Sat Sep 22, 2018 1:45 am

All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Win 10 on a 31Mk3
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 12:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 8:02 am
Posts: 67
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Gents,

Has anyone attempted to install Win10 on a 31Mk3?
I do not see any W10 drivers on the Panny website for the Mk3.
If anyone has successfully took this dive, would you please enlighten me on what is needed and how to go about tackling this?

Thanks in advance.

-Nick

_________________
-31Mk3, 16gb RAM, SSD #1 Samsung 850 Pro 512gb, W10-64 Pro (w/ 2 different VMs installed),Emissive backlit KB, Media Bay 2nd battery

-33Mk1, 16gb RAM, 512gb SSD, W10-64 Ult, Premium Backlit KB, Dual Extended Life batteries installed.
[/size]


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 on a 31Mk3
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 2:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2968
Specs for a mk3 and mk4 are almost identical except for a slight speed increase.
Use the mk4 drivers by opening them up with 7zip.

_________________
Life will beat you into submission.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 on a 31Mk3
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 4:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 8:02 am
Posts: 67
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Shawn,

Thanks for the info....on the Panny site it only shows W10 drivers for a 31 Mk5. Where would I locate the Mk4 zip file you are referring to?

Thanks again for your assistance sir, it is very much appreciated.

-Nick

_________________
-31Mk3, 16gb RAM, SSD #1 Samsung 850 Pro 512gb, W10-64 Pro (w/ 2 different VMs installed),Emissive backlit KB, Media Bay 2nd battery

-33Mk1, 16gb RAM, 512gb SSD, W10-64 Ult, Premium Backlit KB, Dual Extended Life batteries installed.
[/size]


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 on a 31Mk3
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 5:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2968
Here is a direct link w10 --64bit

ftp://ftp.panasonic.com/computer/softwa ... 64V1.2.exe

_________________
Life will beat you into submission.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 on a 31Mk3
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 5:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 8:02 am
Posts: 67
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Hey Shawn

Thank you very much. I haven't seen that site before.

Would the exe. you hyperlinked be the complete Mk4 driver pack for W10?

Thanks again.

-Nick

_________________
-31Mk3, 16gb RAM, SSD #1 Samsung 850 Pro 512gb, W10-64 Pro (w/ 2 different VMs installed),Emissive backlit KB, Media Bay 2nd battery

-33Mk1, 16gb RAM, 512gb SSD, W10-64 Ult, Premium Backlit KB, Dual Extended Life batteries installed.
[/size]


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 on a 31Mk3
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 6:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2968
Yes it is

_________________
Life will beat you into submission.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 on a 31Mk3
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 8:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 8:02 am
Posts: 67
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Shawn,

Thank you for the confirmation.

So basically, after W10 is installed, just double click the .exe and all drivers will be installed?

Sorry for the continual questions, just want to make sure I have all "my ducks in a row" prior to making the move.

Thanks.

-Nick

_________________
-31Mk3, 16gb RAM, SSD #1 Samsung 850 Pro 512gb, W10-64 Pro (w/ 2 different VMs installed),Emissive backlit KB, Media Bay 2nd battery

-33Mk1, 16gb RAM, 512gb SSD, W10-64 Ult, Premium Backlit KB, Dual Extended Life batteries installed.
[/size]


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 on a 31Mk3
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2016 5:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2968
It "may" work that way.
The problem will be that the driver pack is for a mk4 and not a mk3.
No hardware difference, but Panasonic likes to lock things to each specific mk.
You may need to use 7zip to unpack the exe(actually it is a self extracting archive)
Once unpacked you would need to manually install each driver.

_________________
Life will beat you into submission.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 on a 31Mk3
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 8:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 8:02 am
Posts: 67
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Shawn,

You may have just answered my question with your last post, however I am going to ask it anyways sir.

Here is what i have done so far and what I have found:

Step 1 - Most importantly, backed up my entire and known working W7(recovery partition, OS, etc...) install using Acronis True Image 2017.

Attempt 1: Did a clean install of W10 x64 Pro. Executed the driver pack you hyperlinked, via doubleclicking the .exe file. Device Manager looked great and no unknown devices were listed. The only issue I encountered was that all the specific Panny apps (Dashboard, Battery Recall, Wireless Switch Utility, etc.....basically everything that was originally in the Panasonic folder no longer existed). I was unsuccessfully able to locate those apps to reinstall.

Attempt 2: Restored the rig back to w7 from the Acronis image I created in the beginning. Executed the w10 upgrade from within w7. After the upgrade completed, everything I was missing (Panny Specific wise) was available.

It seems like doing the upgrade vs. the clean install keeps all the Panny Apps as well as all other apps. The only drawback, in my opinion, is that doing the upgrade leaves the OS very "bloated", if that makes any sense. One strange thing, that had me a little concerned, was after doing the upgrade, the Panny PC info viewer showed my OS as being W8 x64 not w10.

Is their anyway that I can do a clean install of w10 and regain all the Panny specific apps?

Thanks again for your continued time and assistance sir, it is very much appreciated.

Please have an enjoyable and safe New Years celebration,

Talk to you all next year.

Respectfully,

Nick

_________________
-31Mk3, 16gb RAM, SSD #1 Samsung 850 Pro 512gb, W10-64 Pro (w/ 2 different VMs installed),Emissive backlit KB, Media Bay 2nd battery

-33Mk1, 16gb RAM, 512gb SSD, W10-64 Ult, Premium Backlit KB, Dual Extended Life batteries installed.
[/size]


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Win 10 on a 31Mk3
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 11:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2968
I have not done what you are doing so my answers are based on general knowledge and experience.

The upgrade path has worked better for odd installs in the past.
I really doubt that it is bloated enough to worry about. Especially after you use windows clean up tools to delete all of the install files and backup folders.

Dashboard and apps should work across mks. Download the apps from a cf 31 that had win10 and install them manually.

_________________
Life will beat you into submission.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited