~Toughbooktalk~ Rob - 630-300-8877

The largest Toughbook discussion site on the net!
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 10:19 pm

All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: TB31 Mk3 Boot up issues
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 5:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 8:02 am
Posts: 66
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Good evening toughbook techies,

Hope everyone had a safe, relaxing, and enjoyable holiday season.

I have a relatively new TB31S (1200hrs), which I installed/transplanted a Samsung 840Pro 256GB SSD in when it was brand new; every couple of days when I boot up my TB, after the BIOS POST completes, I get a media drive failure. I power cycle it and go into the BIOS "F2" and it shows that the Hard Drive Bay is "EMPTY".

If I put my Acronis True Image USB boot stick in and power it up...the BIOS shows the there is 256GB HD installed.

Once the 256GB HD is seen the in the BIOS and power cycled, the TB will correctly boot in my W7-64.

I have completely run the "Diagnostic Utility" from within the BIOS but is shows there are no problems. I have run every antivirus and malware/spyware program known to man against the OS but still nada.

Would anyone have any idea(s) what might cause this behavior?

I backup my internal 256gb SDD to an external HDD weekly just in case "Murphy" decides to make a visit...LOL.

Any ideas or suggestions that anyone would be willing to share would very much appreciated.

Thank you all for your time and continued assistance.

Have a great evening,

Nick

_________________
-31Mk3, 16gb RAM, SSD #1 Samsung 850 Pro 512gb, W10-64 Pro (w/ 3 different VMs installed), SSD #2 Kingston SV100 128gb SSD, dual boot W7-32Pro/Ubuntu 12.04LTS, Emissive backlit KB, Media Bay 2nd battery
[/size]


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 6:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 3:10 pm
Posts: 824
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Put the ssd at the top of the boot list.

Check the connection to the ssd inside the caddy and also look for any dirt/damage on either end.

Any other issues with the unit or the boot problem is it?

_________________
CF-52GUN

Life's Journey is not to arrive safely at the grave in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways totally worn-out shouting 'Woo Hoo! What a ride!

Motorsports - the only real sport. If it doesn't have a motor, it is just a game.

There is always something waiting at the end of the road, if you are not willing to see what it is, you probably shouldn't be out there in the first place.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 6:34 pm 
Offline
Toughbooktalk Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:59 pm
Posts: 2590
Location: "TOUGHBOOK LAND" ME ,USA / NB . CANADA
When you installed the OS on the SSD did you do a new install or did you use Acronis True Image to move it to the SSD ?

_________________
:spinny: Blair :spinny:
___________________
CF-19 MK1 /2 Emissive Keyboard * CF-28 MK3
CF-30 MK2 , Intel SSD, 4GB , GPS, W7 Ultimate , Bluetooth, Emissive Keyboard
CF-51 MK3LL Core 2 Duo T7600 Mod , W7, 4GB Ram, 160GB 7200RPM HDD, Finger Print Reader
CF-52MK1 Core2Duo 2GHz, Intel SSD X25 Series ,4GB , BT with dock
CF-52 MK4 i5‑2540M 2.60GHz, ATI Discrete Graphics, Intel 120GB SSD, 16GB,W7 Pro 64bit
CF-53MK1 i5/2520, Kingston Hyper X SSD 240GB, 16GB memory, W7 Pro 64bit with dock
And the little guys CF-M34 MK3 and MK7
Infologix / MediSlate 10.4" tablet
Cel Google Pixel XL
Member of:
http://thessdreview.com/
http://www.toughbooktalk.com
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 6:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 8:02 am
Posts: 66
Location: The Woodlands, TX
toughasnails,

good evening sir...long time no talk...

It was a ground up complete install of W7-64.

Acronis is only used to restore it if/when "Murphy" swings by for a visit.

Thank you for your time sir and have a great evening.

Nick

_________________
-31Mk3, 16gb RAM, SSD #1 Samsung 850 Pro 512gb, W10-64 Pro (w/ 3 different VMs installed), SSD #2 Kingston SV100 128gb SSD, dual boot W7-32Pro/Ubuntu 12.04LTS, Emissive backlit KB, Media Bay 2nd battery
[/size]


Last edited by nmbushek on Sun Jan 26, 2014 7:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 7:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 8:02 am
Posts: 66
Location: The Woodlands, TX
mklym,

Thank you for your quick reply sir.

SSD is #2 in the boot list, non-existant DVD is #1

The original 500gb plotter drive is still in the original caddy. That caddy is in a box, just in case my employer makes me give this beast back to them when I leave.

I purchased 2 empty TB31 caddies from Mr. ROB, thank you ROB for the low price and availabilty, these things are GREAT.

1 of the new caddies has a Kingston SV100 128gb SSD in it, hardly used(Win7-32 and Ubuntu 12.04LTS), the other caddy is this one with the Samsung 840 Pro 256gb SSD (W7-64) in it.

I checked the external connection on the caddy, no dirt or damage. I opened up this caddy and checked the HDD connection but no dirt or damage either.

I just exchanged the SSDs with the 2 caddies, just want to see if the caddy is the issue.

Thank you very much for your time and assistance, it is very much appreciated.

Have a great evening sir.

Nick

_________________
-31Mk3, 16gb RAM, SSD #1 Samsung 850 Pro 512gb, W10-64 Pro (w/ 3 different VMs installed), SSD #2 Kingston SV100 128gb SSD, dual boot W7-32Pro/Ubuntu 12.04LTS, Emissive backlit KB, Media Bay 2nd battery
[/size]


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 7:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 8:02 am
Posts: 66
Location: The Woodlands, TX
mklym,

The only other issue I have encountered with this beast was a complete shutdown while sleeping, after massive forum searches, it was discovered that the issue was related to the "sleep" function in conjunction with the Samsung Magician app.

The app was removed and the issues went away.

_________________
-31Mk3, 16gb RAM, SSD #1 Samsung 850 Pro 512gb, W10-64 Pro (w/ 3 different VMs installed), SSD #2 Kingston SV100 128gb SSD, dual boot W7-32Pro/Ubuntu 12.04LTS, Emissive backlit KB, Media Bay 2nd battery
[/size]


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 7:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 3:10 pm
Posts: 824
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
If you have no boot issues with the other drives, then it is a problem with the Samsung Pro. Check to see if it has the latest firmware and while on the Samsung site, look for a drive test utility. If the drive has the latest firmware and the test comes through with no problems, contact Samsung support.

_________________
CF-52GUN

Life's Journey is not to arrive safely at the grave in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways totally worn-out shouting 'Woo Hoo! What a ride!

Motorsports - the only real sport. If it doesn't have a motor, it is just a game.

There is always something waiting at the end of the road, if you are not willing to see what it is, you probably shouldn't be out there in the first place.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 9:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 8:02 am
Posts: 66
Location: The Woodlands, TX
mklym,

Thank you once a gain for quick reply.

I will check the Samsung Site as you suggested and see what I can find sir.

Thank you for the suggestions and have a great evening.

Nick

_________________
-31Mk3, 16gb RAM, SSD #1 Samsung 850 Pro 512gb, W10-64 Pro (w/ 3 different VMs installed), SSD #2 Kingston SV100 128gb SSD, dual boot W7-32Pro/Ubuntu 12.04LTS, Emissive backlit KB, Media Bay 2nd battery
[/size]


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 7:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 9:15 pm
Posts: 317
Location: 12 Acres on the Rappahannock!
If your SSD went to complete shutdown while it was in sleep mode you may have issues that will necessitate you reinstalling the OS. Now... There may be a wild/weird way to fix this... And sometimes this (for some reason) doesn't bother the drives sometimes. But I have had this happen to me in the past. Here's how...

I think the laptop is off and I am not paying attention and I take the battery out and the drive out to do a modification... Then when I put everything back together... It won't boot correctly.

Windows doesn't like sleep/death/life... It likes to be managed and shut down and can be unforgiving. Just like Mr. Gates himself!

_________________
Rugged Toughbooks of all types... CF-31s, CF-30s, CF-29s, CF-19s, CF-52s, CF-53s, CF-74s, CF-H2... Hmmm... What else can I buy, build or modify?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:04 pm 
Offline
Toughbooktalk Founder
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:23 pm
Posts: 3530
Location: Montgomery, IL 60538
Sounds like a trim support issue to me... This is why I don't use SSD's...

_________________
~Rob - Rugged Depot ~ Cell: (630)/300-8877~

~Fully rugged Toughbook user since April 18th 2005~
~New 5/19/17 - CF-20A5001KM Win10, Intel Core m5-6Y57 1.1GHz, 128GB SSD, 8GB, Verizon 4G LTE, Intel 8260 WiFi a/b/g/n/ac, Bluetooth~
~For the wife (New 4/1/15): CF-AX2LDJZEY/i5/128GB SSD/4GB/Win 8.1~
~Others: CF-52MLBBQ2M (Home Workstation), CF-H2ASFHG1M (Mounted Kitchen Security Cam Viewer), CF-H1CSLFZ1M (Mounted Master Bath Security Cam Viewer)
~New 11/13/14 Donations thanks to everyone at Toughbooktalk: IBM xSeries 3650/2 x Xeon X5560 2.8GHz/16GB RAM/8 x 600GB 10KRPM SAS RAID 5/3.71TB Space/Win 2008 R2/3000VA + 1250VA Battery Backup~
~AT&T 1GB Fiber 1GB/1GB business static line~
~Gamber & Johnson Diamond Partner~

http://www.toughbooktalk.com
http://www.toughbooktalk.com/public_downloads
http://www.toughwiki.com
http://www.robsnetworks.com
http://www.giganethosting.com


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited