~Toughbooktalk~ Rob - 630-300-8877

The largest Toughbook discussion site on the net!
It is currently Mon Jun 24, 2019 12:07 pm

All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2019 10:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 2:30 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Uruguay
Hi, everyone.

I have a CF-31SBLAB1M. Reading about the hardware of this model I came across this page: https://ark.intel.com/content/www/es/es ... 0-ghz.html
Apparently, the Intel i5-3320M can handle up to 32 Gb of RAM. Is it correct? I know this forum has a history of members pushing the memory capacity of the Panny to the limits, (which is amazing, BTW).
Is it doable? Have anyone done this?

Many thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2019 10:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 7:39 am
Posts: 681
Location: Canada
With only two SODIMM slots it would be an expensive test.

_________________
CF-19 MK2 TOUCHSCREEN || CF-19 MK2 DIGITIZER || CF-30 MK3 "Jeff Edition" || CF-19 MK4


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2019 8:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 2:30 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Uruguay
kode-niner wrote:
With only two SODIMM slots it would be an expensive test.


Yes, indeed. But I have the opportunity to buy used modules from a coworker for a fraction of new ones, so I could give it a try. However, I want to know the feasibility of doing so before trying it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 2:06 pm 
Offline
Toughbooktalk Founder
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:23 pm
Posts: 3603
Negative... 16GB is all this will handle. I've tried with 32 with no success.

_________________
~Rob - Rugged Depot ~ Cell: (630)/300-8877~

~Fully rugged Toughbook user since April 18th 2005~
~New 3/16/18 - CF-54F0001KM Win10, Intel Core i5 6300U 2.4GHz, 240GB SSD, 12GB, Verizon 4G LTE, Intel 8260 WiFi a/b/g/n/ac, Bluetooth~
~For the wife (New 1/25/18): CF-54F0962KM/i5/128GB SSD/8GB/Win 10~
~Others: CF-52MLBBQ2M (Home Workstation)
~New 11/13/14 Donations thanks to everyone at Toughbooktalk: IBM xSeries 3650/2 x Xeon X5560 2.8GHz/16GB RAM/8 x 600GB 10KRPM SAS RAID 5/3.71TB Space/Win 2008 R2/3000VA + 1250VA Battery Backup~
~AT&T 1GB Fiber 1GB/1GB business static line~
~Gamber & Johnson Platinum Partner~

http://www.toughbooktalk.com
http://www.toughbooktalk.com/public_downloads
http://www.toughwiki.com


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 7:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 8:01 pm
Posts: 499
Location: New England
I'd like to add some RAM to this MK 4 31 unit.
What's a good link to view specs and pricing?

_________________
CF-53 MX-18.2
CF-30 MK2 SSD LMDE2 Betsy, MK2 Navigatrix, Fundraiser for TbT
CF-52 GUN SSD LMDE2 MX18.2
(NICE) Thanks Sadlmkr
CF-M34 MicroWattR8 Thanks Sadlmkr
CF-M33 MicroWattR8 Thanks Springfield
CF-29 MX-16 (https://mxlinux.org/) Thanks Morgan
CF-28 MK3 MX-14.3 & MicroWattR8


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2019 9:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 2:30 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Uruguay
Rob wrote:
Negative... 16GB is all this will handle. I've tried with 32 with no success.

Many thanks, I knew somebody, somewhere, might try this before. You spare me a substantial amount of money.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited