~Toughbooktalk~ Rob - 630-300-8877

The largest Toughbook discussion site on the net!
It is currently Thu Nov 15, 2018 7:34 pm

All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 700MHz mini-PCI question
PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 6:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 6:15 am
Posts: 3
So on the 700MHz model, does it have a single mini-PCI slot inside with a modem/ethernet combo or is the ethernet onboard and it just has a mini-PCI modem?

_________________
CF-25 - P166MMX, 160mb, 2.1gb, CD, Win98SE FOR SALE
CF-27 - PII 300, 320mb, 10gb, XP Pro FOR SALE
CF-M34 - P3 700, 512, 40gb, XP Pro


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 6:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 9:29 pm
Posts: 710
Location: British Columbia Canada
My 700mhz had only 1 mini-pci slot, to add wi-fi I removed the network card and swapped out for the wi-fi card


Alex

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 6:15 am
Posts: 3
I see you're on both forums! haha

I might just load XP on this thing and sell it. I really want the Centrino CF-M34!

_________________
CF-25 - P166MMX, 160mb, 2.1gb, CD, Win98SE FOR SALE
CF-27 - PII 300, 320mb, 10gb, XP Pro FOR SALE
CF-M34 - P3 700, 512, 40gb, XP Pro


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 6:21 am
Posts: 684
Location: Summerville, South Carolina
Good luck on finding a 1.0GHz CF-M34 and have a decent price. I found a 933MHz and a have been using that one to build my ultimate "keeper". I also was able to score a dual mini pci board thanks to one of the guys on this forum. It also has a mint rubber back lit keyboard and I am transferring the Sierra modem and antenna for the "b" wireless. Still a work in progress, but I get back to it every now and then.

_________________
One CF-52, four CF-18's, 4.5 CF-28's, one CF-29, five CF-M34's, two CF-37's, one CF-P2 and two CF-P1's. There are also two Getac A320T's, one Fieldpac and two IBM Transnotes. Not to mention the AMD 5600 CPU with three monitors and several HP PDA's. Whew! Must quit buying...no, must have MORE! Then there are the weapons...

Ineptocracy: A system of government where the least capable to lead are elected by the least capable of producing, and where the members of society least likely to sustain themselves or succeed, are rewarded with goods and services paid for by the confiscated wealth of a diminishing number of producers.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 8:45 am 
Offline
Toughbooktalk Founder
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:23 pm
Posts: 3580
aaron7 wrote:
I see you're on both forums! haha

I might just load XP on this thing and sell it. I really want the Centrino CF-M34!


EVERYONE that is on NBR on the Toughbook forums is on here too lol. :headbang: :)

_________________
~Rob - Rugged Depot ~ Cell: (630)/300-8877~

~Fully rugged Toughbook user since April 18th 2005~
~New 3/16/18 - CF-54F0001KM Win10, Intel Core i5 6300U 2.4GHz, 240GB SSD, 12GB, Verizon 4G LTE, Intel 8260 WiFi a/b/g/n/ac, Bluetooth~
~For the wife (New 1/25/18): CF-54F0962KM/i5/128GB SSD/8GB/Win 10~
~Others: CF-52MLBBQ2M (Home Workstation)
~New 11/13/14 Donations thanks to everyone at Toughbooktalk: IBM xSeries 3650/2 x Xeon X5560 2.8GHz/16GB RAM/8 x 600GB 10KRPM SAS RAID 5/3.71TB Space/Win 2008 R2/3000VA + 1250VA Battery Backup~
~AT&T 1GB Fiber 1GB/1GB business static line~
~Gamber & Johnson Diamond Partner~

http://www.toughbooktalk.com
http://www.toughbooktalk.com/public_downloads
http://www.toughwiki.com
http://www.robsnetworks.com
http://www.giganethosting.com


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2012 11:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 12:28 pm
Posts: 52
My CF-m34 mk1 only has the modem and USB port. Can i swap the connecter board of a CF-m34 mk2, that also has the network port, and put it in the CF-m34-mk1 ?

Are the parts of the difrent versions of the CF-m34 exchangable at all ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 9:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:51 pm
Posts: 1884
Location: Northeast Louisiana
I am not sure if they will swap or not. I never did try to swap anything from my newer M34's to my 17.

I have a few shots of the motherboards posted in the TBT M34 thread. I think I have the 17, Mk2, Mk3 and Mk7. I don't have shots of the motherboards of the other units. There is also a hard to find dual M-pci board for the M34 but I have yet to get one or see a picture of it. I was under the impression that all the M34 Mk7's came with it but after getting 3 Mk7 neither had the dual card option, so I am guessing you had to order your unit with dual cards to get that board. Someone had been inside the units before to get the hard drive, but I doubt they just swap the boards out.

_________________
CF-28 MK2,Mk3 / CF-29 Mk3 / CF-30 MK2 / CF-25 Mk1 ATI / CF-19 MK3/Mk3/Mk5 / CF-U1 Mk1,Mk2 / CF-M34 Mk7/Mk3 / CF-17 Mk1 / CF-07
Voodoo Envy M355 / M360 / M515 / M780 / U703 / Voodoo Hexx / Voodoo Idol / Voodoo Rage F1 / Voodoo Rage F1 / Voodoo Rage F1 "signed case" / Voodoo Omen
Alienware M11x R1


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 9:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 12:28 pm
Posts: 52
I have a MK1 (celeron 300Mhz), several MK2s (celeron 400Mhz with SSE) and one Mk3 (pentium III - 700mhz). They all have NO 3d card. anyhow, maybe some other members know the answer.

When i get my other 11 Mk2s this week, i will try to insert the MK2 network board into the mk1 (i have one spare mk1 that has no screen ... so doesnt matter if it burns down....).

If it works, it might be handy for the members that still use an MK1 to have the network connection..


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 11:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 8:31 pm
Posts: 739
Location: B.C.
Yes! you can swap it out with the mini pci board with the combo card so that you can have modem & ethernet also the board terminal and it port cover.


teo


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 6:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 12:28 pm
Posts: 52
Thats great news , teo ! thanks


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited