~Toughbooktalk~ Rob - 630-300-8877

The largest Toughbook discussion site on the net!
It is currently Thu Sep 20, 2018 3:03 pm

All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 10:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 3:10 pm
Posts: 824
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
I have to apply a lot of pressure on the stylus to get any response from the top inch of the TS. I removed the top cabinet and checked the ffc for seperation, all is fine and cable is properly seated. The rest of the TS work normal. TS does NOT have a screen protector installed on it.

Any ideas as to what the problem is will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

_________________
CF-52GUN

Life's Journey is not to arrive safely at the grave in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways totally worn-out shouting 'Woo Hoo! What a ride!

Motorsports - the only real sport. If it doesn't have a motor, it is just a game.

There is always something waiting at the end of the road, if you are not willing to see what it is, you probably shouldn't be out there in the first place.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 12:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2967
The screen itself is probably separated.

_________________
Life will beat you into submission.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 2:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 3:10 pm
Posts: 824
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Okay, if that is the case I need to replace the TS panel. Thanks for the reply Shawn.

_________________
CF-52GUN

Life's Journey is not to arrive safely at the grave in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways totally worn-out shouting 'Woo Hoo! What a ride!

Motorsports - the only real sport. If it doesn't have a motor, it is just a game.

There is always something waiting at the end of the road, if you are not willing to see what it is, you probably shouldn't be out there in the first place.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 6:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2209
Location: TDR-HQ California
Strange for a MK3.

What Shawn said I think.

Or, could be the bottom edge needs cleaning....toothpick or folded screen protector piece.

Did you try the reset button? We talked aboot this, yes?

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 11:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 8:31 pm
Posts: 739
Location: B.C.
I don't remember but is it the place where the ffc cable come out from the ts panel? I ask coz it is possible that the cable(FFC ribbon) where it meet between the circuit of the ts panel are starting to separate due to heat. It is different where it usually happen on CF-29 or CF-30MK1. The problem as I suspect is from the other side/end of the cable ribbon mentioned above. It will also cured by applying a mild heat(really mild so that not to burn the cable) while pressing the area at the same time.

teo


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 7:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 3:10 pm
Posts: 824
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Jeff, the calibration is good but I will try a reset and see if that makes a difference. I will check for particles along the bezel as well. Thanks.

Teo, the problem area is on the opposite side of the screen, right top side, from where the ffc comes out of the panel on the left side. I will take a look at that area and see what the panel-ffc looks like.

Thank you both for the replies. Will post results/finding later.

_________________
CF-52GUN

Life's Journey is not to arrive safely at the grave in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways totally worn-out shouting 'Woo Hoo! What a ride!

Motorsports - the only real sport. If it doesn't have a motor, it is just a game.

There is always something waiting at the end of the road, if you are not willing to see what it is, you probably shouldn't be out there in the first place.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 5:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2209
Location: TDR-HQ California
What Teo says makes sense as always. It may be a circuit that is incomplete / dodgy....separation causing more resistance???? or some other electrical word. :D There are as you know four elements....I'm thinking it's time to brew up a cuppa and press the cup on the FPC elements between the layers. Melt adhesive not plastic. :D

If it works I have a 52GUN with a similar problem. 3 x's spot on, the lower left up and in 2 inches.

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 5:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 3:10 pm
Posts: 824
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Well, it seems to be a Mint problem. I swapped out the Mint ssd for the ssd with W7 on it and the TS works great. I will do re-calibration in Mint and see if the problem goes away or improves. Thanks for all the responses. :salute:

_________________
CF-52GUN

Life's Journey is not to arrive safely at the grave in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways totally worn-out shouting 'Woo Hoo! What a ride!

Motorsports - the only real sport. If it doesn't have a motor, it is just a game.

There is always something waiting at the end of the road, if you are not willing to see what it is, you probably shouldn't be out there in the first place.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 10:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 3:10 pm
Posts: 824
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
I redid the calibration in Mint and there is no difference, top inch, mainly on left side, requires a lot of pressure on the stylus to get the cursor to move. I think I am going to try another distro of Linux and see if the problem is still there. Strange that the TS works perfect in W7 but has a problem in Mint.
I don't know if I will have time tonight to do the install as I have a CF-31 I am finishing off tonight so that it is ready for pick up tomorrow.

_________________
CF-52GUN

Life's Journey is not to arrive safely at the grave in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways totally worn-out shouting 'Woo Hoo! What a ride!

Motorsports - the only real sport. If it doesn't have a motor, it is just a game.

There is always something waiting at the end of the road, if you are not willing to see what it is, you probably shouldn't be out there in the first place.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2015 6:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 3:10 pm
Posts: 824
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Installed Zorin and setup the TS. The 'problem' is the same as with Mint. Swap in a caddy with W7 and the TS works proper.
So I will either live with the TS as is in Linux or make the MK3 a full time windows unit. Decisions, decisions.

_________________
CF-52GUN

Life's Journey is not to arrive safely at the grave in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways totally worn-out shouting 'Woo Hoo! What a ride!

Motorsports - the only real sport. If it doesn't have a motor, it is just a game.

There is always something waiting at the end of the road, if you are not willing to see what it is, you probably shouldn't be out there in the first place.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited