~Toughbooktalk~ Rob - 630-300-8877

The largest Toughbook discussion site on the net!
It is currently Thu Sep 20, 2018 2:46 pm

All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: New here with a CF-30
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 8:13 am
Posts: 5
I started out two years ago getting a couple CF-29's locally for a pretty good price.

One of those sat as a spare for the better part of that time. The one I used, I use mainly for tuning software for my truck. Even have a Precision Mount for it.

A few weeks back, I picked up a CF-30.

Model number is CF-30CWQAZBM

Came with DVDR drive, 80gig HDD/caddy, power supply.

I immediately installed 4gig ram and a 500gig 7200rpm drive into it.

Runs pretty good on vista, but I'll be changing that soon enough.

Touch screen is flaky, so I'll be replacing that. Don't really care if it works. And then, I took the rubber emissive keyboard out and replaced it with the emissive chiclet keyboard from the spare CF-29.

For a CF-30 with all that and just under 2100 hours, I'd have to say that 110 bucks wasn't a bad deal.

I am now trying to convince myself to retire the CF-29's and use the 30 solely.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 9:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 10:33 am
Posts: 548
Go here to get the driver bundle for Windows 7,if you have a copy of 7 just install it and run the exe in the bundle as admin and it will add all the drivers in order. Easy as it gets.

http://www.panasonic.com/business/tough ... nloads.asp

_________________
2 CF-30Mk3's, 2 CF-71's, CF-L1, 3 CF-72's, CF-73, CF-74, CF-48, CF-50, CF-51Mk3, 2 CF-19's,7 CF-52's, FZ-A1 and other assorted beaters.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 5:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 9:07 am
Posts: 523
Location: Ft. Campbell area.
Welcome to the forum. New here myself so can tell you these guys are very helpful. They might not convince you to retire the 29 but in time you might end up with dual mounts in the truck.

_________________
CF-29ET, CF-28ST, CF-30G , CF-M34, CF-19Ch, CF-19FH, CF-19CD, CF-73 mk1, CF-74K & H, CF-51RCB, CF-51RCL, CF-52CC .

As long as the deal is good for you it is good for me.

Member of Toughbooktalk and Notebook Review forums


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 4:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2209
Location: TDR-HQ California
You will be very happy if you install a new TS panel. The existing one is repairable (usually) by a few individuals but the real cost will be the same. The new panel will be bright and clear and the concern of it's going flaky again will be gone.

Sounds like you have a Vista Bios. That's good as it is required for Windows 7. There is a sticky somewhere here about CF-30 MK1 bios.

Welcome.

Jeff

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 4:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 8:13 am
Posts: 5
I'm thinking it's getting about time to do it though. The only hangup about doing it is the fact that the 29 has a parallel port where the 30 doesn't.

Why is this important?

This awesome little HP 4L printer that I use.......


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 4:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2967
I know a board member who has a couple CF29's.. Maybe get a whole a top half or rebuild one for you to swap..Swapping a top half is a half hour job..

Hint..Hint...ask... Jeff (Sadlmkr)

_________________
Life will beat you into submission.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 4:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 8:13 am
Posts: 5
The CF-29's I have are fine as they are. I replaced the touchscreens a while back with lexan.

The CF-30 touch sreen is acting funny.

Will probably replace that with lexan also.

I've lived without a touchscreen this long.

If I pull the touch screen out of the 30, I'll probably do some experimenting with the ribbon cable and some silver strand from some 32 gauge wire.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 6:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2967
I'm tired ..not paying attention....yes, I can live without touchscreen too..I much prefer a digitizer.

_________________
Life will beat you into submission.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 6:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 8:13 am
Posts: 5
Not sure if I am reading you post correctly.

Technically speaking, the touch screens in these model tough books use the same technology as the Garmin touch screens, which are referred to as "digitizers"


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 6:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2209
Location: TDR-HQ California
Panasonic Toughbooks are different terminology.
Digitizer takes a special stylus. Has another layer to the panel.
Touch-screens use different stylus, finger elbow whatever.

Then there are the dual touch kind. I never touched one. lol play on words.

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited