~Toughbooktalk~ Rob - 630-300-8877

The largest Toughbook discussion site on the net!
It is currently Sat Jul 21, 2018 9:22 am

All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 7:35 am
Posts: 59
hey all ,

i finally made it in here !
thanks to shawn and rob for the assist .

i put together a '30 with vista professional for a friend .
model : CF-30F3SAXAM (well at least that is what the bottom unit is)
BIOS : V2.00L15
EC : V2.00L14
he bought a sled and gobi 2000 combo for it off of greezbay :
(T77Z039T00(.02) LF REV.0213)
now ... for the installation ...
i did find the CSA installer and ran it ... it seems to have installed ok but the gobi card is not found (no surprise there) .
i did some looking around and found a few dead-ends about the installation .
any information will be appreciated .

thanks in advance .

_________________
CF-30 mkI/TS/dvd/custom gps/wwan/wlan/BT/emmsive kb ---- CF-52 mkII/custom TS/dvd/wlan/BT/emmisive kb
CF-19 mkIV/TS/dvd/gps/wwam/wlan/BT/emissive kb/SSD ---- CF-31 mkI/TS/dvd/custom gps/wwan/wlan/emissive kb/SSD
CF-74 dvd/wlan/BT ---- CF-52 mkIII/ATI graphics card/i5-2.53GHz/wlan/BT/SSD (wwan/custom gps/TS coming soon)

"Know how to solve every problem that has been solved"
(R. Feynman '88)
"yessir , that boy has a couple of shorted turns on the primary"
"i've been to three county fairs , two hog calls and a goat ropin' but i aint never seen nothin' like this"


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2014 5:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2208
Location: TDR-HQ California
After you do a power pull reset and set bios to defaults check device manager for the Gobi entries. If none there it may be a dip switch.

If they are there right click one and check properties. The second entry in details (hardware i.d.s)should have an entry for 250D. Send us a picture and do a google search for the complete id. If it's 250C it's a Gobi 1000.
Let's do small steps.
Do you have Gobi entries in your \util or \util2? Like a folder labeled Gobi1000?

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 7:35 am
Posts: 59
ok ... i figured out what was going on .
when all else fails ; R-RTFM .
it is working ok now .
i installed the "locked down" single carrier version (verizon) .

it turns out that the unit is a 250D/1000 . :mad:
_*sigh*_ yet another case of "not as advertized" on fleecebay .
i will tell my friend about this ...
he said it was advertized as a 2000 ... i seen the link he sent me ... it said it was a 2000 .

_________________
CF-30 mkI/TS/dvd/custom gps/wwan/wlan/BT/emmsive kb ---- CF-52 mkII/custom TS/dvd/wlan/BT/emmisive kb
CF-19 mkIV/TS/dvd/gps/wwam/wlan/BT/emissive kb/SSD ---- CF-31 mkI/TS/dvd/custom gps/wwan/wlan/emissive kb/SSD
CF-74 dvd/wlan/BT ---- CF-52 mkIII/ATI graphics card/i5-2.53GHz/wlan/BT/SSD (wwan/custom gps/TS coming soon)

"Know how to solve every problem that has been solved"
(R. Feynman '88)
"yessir , that boy has a couple of shorted turns on the primary"
"i've been to three county fairs , two hog calls and a goat ropin' but i aint never seen nothin' like this"


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2014 10:36 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2951
Be careful with words like Fleecebay. :eek:

Jeff is a sheep rancher. :boing:

Image

Image

_________________
Life will beat you into submission.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2014 5:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2208
Location: TDR-HQ California
I was thinking about sheep or something but are you sure the 250D is Gobi 1000? I had it in my puny head 250C was 1000, 250D was 2000 and I'm seeing 250E now. (3000?)
250D will act as GPS. Check the com ports for the NMEA entry. Yes, Gobi 1000 has it too but it's mostly non-functioning. (I say mostly because I know a guy that used GPS function in the 1000)

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2014 5:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2208
Location: TDR-HQ California
Double post for picture of 1000.


Attachments:
gobi.PNG
gobi.PNG [ 23.57 KiB | Viewed 2824 times ]

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2014 6:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 7:35 am
Posts: 59
in the verizon access manager the device shows as a "GOBI 1000" .
also , it is mentioned here :
https://developer.qualcomm.com/forum/qd ... gobi/24997

i dunno ...
but i'm thinking i should change the title of this topic .
:lauging:

_________________
CF-30 mkI/TS/dvd/custom gps/wwan/wlan/BT/emmsive kb ---- CF-52 mkII/custom TS/dvd/wlan/BT/emmisive kb
CF-19 mkIV/TS/dvd/gps/wwam/wlan/BT/emissive kb/SSD ---- CF-31 mkI/TS/dvd/custom gps/wwan/wlan/emissive kb/SSD
CF-74 dvd/wlan/BT ---- CF-52 mkIII/ATI graphics card/i5-2.53GHz/wlan/BT/SSD (wwan/custom gps/TS coming soon)

"Know how to solve every problem that has been solved"
(R. Feynman '88)
"yessir , that boy has a couple of shorted turns on the primary"
"i've been to three county fairs , two hog calls and a goat ropin' but i aint never seen nothin' like this"


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited