~Toughbooktalk~ Rob - 630-300-8877

The largest Toughbook discussion site on the net!
It is currently Tue Jul 17, 2018 10:47 pm

All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 12:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 7:07 pm
Posts: 174
Rob wrote:
HELLO??? it's CF-73ECPTXDM!!
ok ok... I get it... and a new pair of bifocals!! When time allows, I'll shove in a 1gb module and see if it still boots :D

Ron in SG... becoming skeptical of following manuals to the letter!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:58 pm 
Offline
Toughbooktalk Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:59 pm
Posts: 2615
Location: "TOUGHBOOK LAND" ME ,USA / NB . CANADA
Brennen
Check out the panasonic Canada site , click on the link and it will take you to the downloads site. It lists 1 driver for a cf-73E plus a few others. When I did the search I did not check which Operating System I had because I wanted to see them all. Check the pic
Blair

http://panasonic.ca/english/customercare/sandd/softwarequery.asp

_________________
:spinny: Blair :spinny:
___________________
CF-19 MK1 /2 Emissive Keyboard * CF-28 MK3
CF-30 MK2 , Intel SSD, 4GB , GPS, W7 Ultimate , Bluetooth, Emissive Keyboard
CF-51 MK3LL Core 2 Duo T7600 Mod , W7, 4GB Ram, 160GB 7200RPM HDD, Finger Print Reader
CF-52MK1 Core2Duo 2GHz, Intel SSD X25 Series ,4GB , BT with dock
CF-52 MK4 i5‑2540M 2.60GHz, ATI Discrete Graphics, Intel 120GB SSD, 16GB,W7 Pro 64bit
CF-53MK1 i5/2520, Kingston Hyper X SSD 240GB, 16GB memory, W7 Pro 64bit with dock
And the little guys CF-M34 MK3 and MK7
Infologix / MediSlate 10.4" tablet
Cel Google Pixel XL
Member of:
http://thessdreview.com/
http://www.toughbooktalk.com
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Last edited by toughasnails on Thu Feb 04, 2010 7:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 10:23 am
Posts: 13
Location: Lombard,IL, 60148
Ok well I tried all I could, but in the end I switched my OS back to XP. Thanks for all the help guys. Windows 7 works fine on a toughbook CF-73ECPTXDM (MK1), only if you wish to be out of a touchscreen.








CF-73ECPTXDM (MK1) Pentium M 1.4GHz (Centrino), 13.3"Transmissive TOUCH XGA, 1.5, 64VRAM, 40GB, DVD/CDRW, Intel 802.11b, WIN XP


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 7:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 7:07 pm
Posts: 174
Now that you've done both XP & W7, would you say that W7 is any slower on the same machine? Having the touchscreen is an individual preference and personally, I won't miss it but all hotkeys must work.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 7:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 10:23 am
Posts: 13
Location: Lombard,IL, 60148
I would say that they both work really well, in some cases with big graphics in WIN 7 it would start to act funny and a bit of lag. Other then that I wouldn't say that WIN 7 is horribly slow. I would say 7 runs about that same speed as XP, but with no touchscreen and a big of lag here and there. As for hot keys I'm not sure, I was very into getting the touch screen to work and didn't spend to much time on that.





CF-73ECPTXDM (MK1) Pentium M 1.4GHz (Centrino), 13.3"Transmissive TOUCH XGA, 1.5, 64VRAM, 40GB, DVD/CDRW, Intel 802.11b, WIN XP


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 9:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 1:52 pm
Posts: 531
Location: Hotlanta, GA, USA!
I would not have given up so quick! I am sure that the touchpad could have been made to work, if only by finding the manufacturers site and looking for the reference drivers or using drivers for the pad under Vista or even Win7 from a different OEM.

Frankly, I would have put money on this one working if you would have downloaded and then extracted using 7Zip. This is the touchscreen update for Vista running on a CF-18 Mk4 & Mk5.

For any that find and try this in the future please confirm whether this works or not. :D

_________________
I am what I am, somebody has to be.
Call me for free from anywhere in the USA from my homepage! http://www.azrial.com/
CF-31JEGAX1M Mk2 Intel i5-2520M 2.50 GHz, Win7x64 & Ubuntu x64 14.04LTS Dual Boot, 16GB RAM, Samsung 250GB SSD, 2x64GB USB FD, 64GB SDHC, GOBI 4000, BUGPS, IBM AC/DC Supply #22P9003


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 4:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 7:07 pm
Posts: 174
Blucado, what is the brand/specs of the RAM you used to hit 1.5gb?

Recalling from my CF29N's upgrade, it was 'safe' to use a higher speed RAM, ie. pc2700 in lieu of pc2100, so I did just that with a 512mb pc2700 DDR1 module. It's recognized in BIOS but the bootup could not complete, ie. there is no log in page.

Again, the specs from the manuals for the CF-73 Mk1;
200 pins, SO-DIMM, DDR-SDRAM, PC2100 Compliant
onboard 512 MB (1024 MB Max.)

Ron in SG


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 4:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 9:29 pm
Posts: 710
Location: British Columbia Canada
Pc 2700 should work


Alex

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 7:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 7:07 pm
Posts: 174
Alex,
If time allows, I'll swing by a refurbisher in my neighborhood to see if they have used 1gb PC2700 modules. Will update.
Ron in SG


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:07 am 
Offline
Toughbooktalk Founder
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:23 pm
Posts: 3569
I have 1GB pc2700 BRAND NEW Kingston modules in stock... I can provide for $65 shipped.

_________________
~Rob - Rugged Depot ~ Cell: (630)/300-8877~

~Fully rugged Toughbook user since April 18th 2005~
~New 3/16/18 - CF-54F0001KM Win10, Intel Core i5 6300U 2.4GHz, 240GB SSD, 12GB, Verizon 4G LTE, Intel 8260 WiFi a/b/g/n/ac, Bluetooth~
~For the wife (New 1/25/18): CF-54F0962KM/i5/128GB SSD/8GB/Win 10~
~Others: CF-52MLBBQ2M (Home Workstation)
~New 11/13/14 Donations thanks to everyone at Toughbooktalk: IBM xSeries 3650/2 x Xeon X5560 2.8GHz/16GB RAM/8 x 600GB 10KRPM SAS RAID 5/3.71TB Space/Win 2008 R2/3000VA + 1250VA Battery Backup~
~AT&T 1GB Fiber 1GB/1GB business static line~
~Gamber & Johnson Diamond Partner~

http://www.toughbooktalk.com
http://www.toughbooktalk.com/public_downloads
http://www.toughwiki.com
http://www.robsnetworks.com
http://www.giganethosting.com


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 Next

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited