~Toughbooktalk~ Rob - 630-300-8877

The largest Toughbook discussion site on the net!
It is currently Mon Jul 23, 2018 12:12 am

All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Bios password
PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2015 1:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 5:50 pm
Posts: 111
Location: Evergreen State
I have seen some toughbooks on eBay that are bios password locked. Is there any way out of that? Some are low prices under a hundred and some, cf-31, was over $699. Can anybody shed some light on the darkness of my inexperience?

_________________
We get some rules to follow.
That and this, these and those.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bios password
PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2015 2:06 pm 
Offline
Toughbooktalk Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:59 pm
Posts: 2615
Location: "TOUGHBOOK LAND" ME ,USA / NB . CANADA
pp999 wrote:
Can anybody shed some light on the darkness of my inexperience?


Sure can...no way around it. No software program will unlock it. Only way around it is to send it to Heartlands Services (Panasonic) and the cost is $250.00 - $400.00 .

_________________
:spinny: Blair :spinny:
___________________
CF-19 MK1 /2 Emissive Keyboard * CF-28 MK3
CF-30 MK2 , Intel SSD, 4GB , GPS, W7 Ultimate , Bluetooth, Emissive Keyboard
CF-51 MK3LL Core 2 Duo T7600 Mod , W7, 4GB Ram, 160GB 7200RPM HDD, Finger Print Reader
CF-52MK1 Core2Duo 2GHz, Intel SSD X25 Series ,4GB , BT with dock
CF-52 MK4 i5‑2540M 2.60GHz, ATI Discrete Graphics, Intel 120GB SSD, 16GB,W7 Pro 64bit
CF-53MK1 i5/2520, Kingston Hyper X SSD 240GB, 16GB memory, W7 Pro 64bit with dock
And the little guys CF-M34 MK3 and MK7
Infologix / MediSlate 10.4" tablet
Cel Google Pixel XL
Member of:
http://thessdreview.com/
http://www.toughbooktalk.com
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bios password
PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2015 5:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 5:50 pm
Posts: 111
Location: Evergreen State
Thanks, that helps a lot. It would have to be a really good deal to make it worth it.

_________________
We get some rules to follow.
That and this, these and those.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bios password
PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2015 1:20 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:51 pm
Posts: 1881
Location: Northeast Louisiana
IF you find one that is locked and the boot order is correct sometimes you can make a deal, but you later on can't go into the bios and activate GPS if you add it later or if someone cut it off for example.

What are you looking for and what price range? I am sure one of the members here probably has it.

_________________
CF-28 MK2,Mk3 / CF-29 Mk3 / CF-30 MK2 / CF-25 Mk1 ATI / CF-19 MK3/Mk3/Mk5 / CF-U1 Mk1,Mk2 / CF-M34 Mk7/Mk3 / CF-17 Mk1 / CF-07
Voodoo Envy M355 / M360 / M515 / M780 / U703 / Voodoo Hexx / Voodoo Idol / Voodoo Rage F1 / Voodoo Rage F1 / Voodoo Rage F1 "signed case" / Voodoo Omen
Alienware M11x R1


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bios password
PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2015 1:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 5:50 pm
Posts: 111
Location: Evergreen State
Possibly cf-31, but just kicking around that idea. I won't get serious until I straighten out my cf-29 and set aside some funds. Thanks, when I get serious I will ask the forum.

_________________
We get some rules to follow.
That and this, these and those.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bios password
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2015 2:11 pm 
Offline
Toughbooktalk Founder
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:23 pm
Posts: 3569
This is something which we (I)/Rugged Depot can do as needed.

Please PM me and I can set up an RMA.

Thanks!

_________________
~Rob - Rugged Depot ~ Cell: (630)/300-8877~

~Fully rugged Toughbook user since April 18th 2005~
~New 3/16/18 - CF-54F0001KM Win10, Intel Core i5 6300U 2.4GHz, 240GB SSD, 12GB, Verizon 4G LTE, Intel 8260 WiFi a/b/g/n/ac, Bluetooth~
~For the wife (New 1/25/18): CF-54F0962KM/i5/128GB SSD/8GB/Win 10~
~Others: CF-52MLBBQ2M (Home Workstation)
~New 11/13/14 Donations thanks to everyone at Toughbooktalk: IBM xSeries 3650/2 x Xeon X5560 2.8GHz/16GB RAM/8 x 600GB 10KRPM SAS RAID 5/3.71TB Space/Win 2008 R2/3000VA + 1250VA Battery Backup~
~AT&T 1GB Fiber 1GB/1GB business static line~
~Gamber & Johnson Diamond Partner~

http://www.toughbooktalk.com
http://www.toughbooktalk.com/public_downloads
http://www.toughwiki.com
http://www.robsnetworks.com
http://www.giganethosting.com


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bios password
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2015 5:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 5:50 pm
Posts: 111
Location: Evergreen State
Thanks Rob. I don't have anything bios locked, and probably wont get anything like that unless it was a screaming deal.

_________________
We get some rules to follow.
That and this, these and those.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bios password
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 9:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 9:43 pm
Posts: 26
Location: British Columbia
I was wondering what parameters are restricted with a bios locked with an unknown password - I understand the boot order issue, which could be a deal breaker - how would you know what the boot order was without access to the bios? - in addition, does a bios lock out constrain the HD and RAM size to the original build or will it adapt?

_________________
CF-30C with standard keyboard and Windows XP.
CF-30K x 2, both running Windows 7.
CF-19F. Windows 7.
It's difficult not to collect these things.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bios password
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2951
You can swap HDD without a problem.
The issues are some companies disable all of the wireless devices and / or the USB ports. I have seen them with the DVD disabled also.
The gov't is good for disabling all external ports and devices. It prevents idiots from stuffing a usb stick in and uploading the latest game that contains malware which ends up on the main server.

_________________
Life will beat you into submission.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bios password
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 11:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 7:39 am
Posts: 655
Location: Canada
Shawn wrote:
...It prevents idiots from stuffing a usb stick in and uploading the latest game that contains malware which ends up on the main server.


Or copying/stealing confidential files.


Side note: I was very lucky with one of my MK2 CF-19's that had a BIOS password. Somehow I managed to reset the system by removing the CMOS battery. I suspect that if a password is present but TPM is not enabled, this may work on certain older models, though I am not willing to set a password to test and confirm my suspicions.

_________________
CF-19 MK2 TOUCHSCREEN || CF-19 MK2 DIGITIZER || CF-30 MK3 "Jeff Edition" || CF-19 MK4


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited