~Toughbooktalk~ Rob - 630-300-8877

The largest Toughbook discussion site on the net!
It is currently Mon Jun 18, 2018 1:00 pm

All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 6:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 5:10 pm
Posts: 12
Hello everyone, I didn't see a area for CF-48's so I put my ? here, I bought a used CF-48 on e-Bay about 6 years ago, it didn't come with recovery CD's but with 2 image CD's and a wi-fi driver cd, anyway it has got to where windows won't load anymore, I get the XP Pro splash screen then it goes black and stays that way, I did get it to boot in safemode one time and tried doing a chkdsk/r in the run box but that didn't fix anything, now it won't even boot to safemode. However it is a dual boot machine and I have Linux Mint installed and it loads and works just fine, but I don't need it and I need XP to run software for my telescope mount and camera I use for astrophotography, so how do I use these restore disc's I have, I inserted disc 1 and it would not boot from it so I really don't know what to do to get this thing going again, any help would be useful. Here is a pic of the disc's I have.
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 7:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 8:31 pm
Posts: 739
Location: B.C.
Ok! Set the boot menu of the machine into CD rom first. It will be done by pressing F2 at boot up. It will then display the bios screen. Navigate to Boot menu and set Cd rom first. Then Save and exit. Now place the first recovery cd into cd rom then boot. After the first cd finished place the next one and so on until its all done.

teo


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 8:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 5:10 pm
Posts: 12
Ok, I have done that, but when it boots from the CD I get a DOS screen that wants to access the floppy A: drive?
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 9:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2942
I see they are Powerquest disk images. It's been a long time since I messed with that..
Type dir at the a: prompt and see what comes up.
I think it is showing the cd drive as a:
If I remember there should be an file called pquest.exe

_________________
Life will beat you into submission.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 9:48 pm 
Offline
Toughbooktalk Founder
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:23 pm
Posts: 3567
Lol, I KNEW two would be the first to reply! :)

_________________
~Rob - Rugged Depot ~ Cell: (630)/300-8877~

~Fully rugged Toughbook user since April 18th 2005~
~New 3/16/18 - CF-540001KM Win10, Intel Core i5 6300U 2.4GHz, 240GB SSD, 12GB, Verizon 4G LTE, Intel 8260 WiFi a/b/g/n/ac, Bluetooth~
~For the wife (New 1/25/18): CF-54F0962KM/i5/128GB SSD/8GB/Win 10~
~Others: CF-52MLBBQ2M (Home Workstation)
~New 11/13/14 Donations thanks to everyone at Toughbooktalk: IBM xSeries 3650/2 x Xeon X5560 2.8GHz/16GB RAM/8 x 600GB 10KRPM SAS RAID 5/3.71TB Space/Win 2008 R2/3000VA + 1250VA Battery Backup~
~AT&T 1GB Fiber 1GB/1GB business static line~
~Gamber & Johnson Diamond Partner~

http://www.toughbooktalk.com
http://www.toughbooktalk.com/public_downloads
http://www.toughwiki.com
http://www.robsnetworks.com
http://www.giganethosting.com


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:50 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 2206
Location: TDR-HQ California
Then the disks are Caldera Dos and Shawn is right.

What does C: yield? Or dir c: from the a:

autoexec.bat could be interesting.

_________________
Fair for you/ Fair for me.
I chose to NOT be organized.

-------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
http://toughbooktalk.com/
http://forum.notebookreview.com/panasonic/


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 1:20 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2942
PQDI.exe is the command to type in.

This is the version 4 manual. It's not much help, but it's a start.
ftp://ftp.symsntec.com/public/english_us_canada/products/dimage_pro/4.0/manuals/dimage_pro_4.0_ug.pdf

_________________
Life will beat you into submission.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 6:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 5:10 pm
Posts: 12
Shawn wrote:
PQDI.exe is the command to type in.

This is the version 4 manual. It's not much help, but it's a start.
ftp://ftp.symsntec.com/public/english_us_canada/products/dimage_pro/4.0/manuals/dimage_pro_4.0_ug.pdf

Well, none of those commands worked?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 9:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 3:10 pm
Posts: 824
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
A:\dir /w /p

Run that command and post the results please.

_________________
CF-52GUN

Life's Journey is not to arrive safely at the grave in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways totally worn-out shouting 'Woo Hoo! What a ride!

Motorsports - the only real sport. If it doesn't have a motor, it is just a game.

There is always something waiting at the end of the road, if you are not willing to see what it is, you probably shouldn't be out there in the first place.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 11:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 8:31 pm
Posts: 739
Location: B.C.
Danng..back to old school again!..Lol. Do you have any oem xp disk to try?

teo


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited